• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Leadmunitions

Leadmunitions

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 27 October 2012 - 02:38 PM

Just wondering if this is an easy install. Mine broke on me the other day. I am new to airsoft and have yet to open the gearbox. Should i try and tackle this repair or just send it out for repair.

#2 gcw360

gcw360

Supreme Guru

• Super Moderator
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 11,606 posts
  • Interests:Airsoft (Especially repair and customizing), Fly Fishing, Fossils (Especially Dino), Snakes, Photography

Posted 27 October 2012 - 06:33 PM

In all honesty, if you have never tried a gear box repair, I would say that you should send it to someone who knows what they are doing.  The best bet being KWA.  The second best being someone who works on KWA's ...a lot.  Not that you should be afraid of the gearbox.  The way many of us learned was by tearing one down and then trial and error.  If you are game for that...we are here to help.  But if you want a guaranteed and warrantied repair, send it to KWA.

#3 philsaudio

philsaudio

Enthusiast

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Interests:Playing Bass, Grandkids, camping

Posted 27 October 2012 - 11:00 PM

If you know it is broken, i presume you must have removed the GB from the gun. The selector is outside of the gearbox and a very simple remove and replace. The KWA selector is TM compatible so any replacement will do, and the part is less than five bucks. The trick is the little nub from the trigger spring retains the selector plate so you will need to lift the selector over it.

Then the next trick is putting the GB back in the lower receiver. To get it back you will need to change position of the selector on the lower as you move the little nub past things on the GB while sliding the GB into the lower until it lines up with the selector plate slot as you push it home.