Does Green Gas Really Work?

greengas kz75

17 replies to this topic

#1 chesterc

chesterc

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Interests:Shooting sports ... use airsoft to train for Steel Challenge, IDPA, and USPSA.

Posted 04 May 2012 - 07:58 AM

Hi,

I'm new to airsoft. On Tuesday I bought a KZ75, extra magazine, and a can of green gas from a local store. After reading through the manual that came with the pistol I charged both magazines with green gas, loaded them with the BBs that came with the pistol and tried firing. Nothing happened.

I tried charging the magazines several times and the most I ever got out of the pistol was a slight slide movement and a puff of air.

Convinced I'm doing something wrong I took everything back to the store so they could demonstrate how all this works. The clerk (different guy than when I was previously in the store) tried both mags with my can of Green Gas and had the same result. Then he grabbed a brand new can of Green Gas (different brand) and tried again. This time there was at least one "shot" with full slide movement but subsequent trigger pulls did nothing.

So then he pulls out a can of propane and fills both magazines. The gun fires and the slide cycles crisply with every trigger pull. So he trades me out a can of propane and an adaptor for the Green Gas I previously bought. I took everything home and had some fun putting holes in paper last night.

I do know that using propane voids my warranty and I'm OK with that. I just would like some explanation of why this happened. Why is Green Gas the recommended propellant when it flatly does not work? Is it possible that there is something wrong with the gun and/or both magazines that they won't work with Green Gas?

BTW, I was operating the pistol, loading the mags, etc in my garage where the ambient temperature was about 83-degrees Fahrenheit. The gas they originally sold me was UHC G-1000 Green Gas.

Thanks

#2 xX Chaotic Cam

xX Chaotic Cam

Enthusiast

• Members