Jump to content


KM4A1 Upgrades and Accessories


  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 xXxGruntxXx

xXxGruntxXx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Posted 10 June 2008 - 02:43 PM

Hey, I purchased a KM4A1 from airsoftgi a few days ago, and I'm wondering what kind of upgrades would be good to improve the gun.

I have a list of items I would eventually like to get, but I don't know how I should prioritize them. I am on a budget, so I can only make orders of about 50$ every other month or so.

Red Dot Scope (Leapers 40mm looks nice)
Magazines (I heard midcap are much better than highcap, so I'd like to purchase some nice midcaps)
Longer tightbore barrel (can't be too long or it'll suffer from barrel suck)
Hopup and Hopup Bucking (Systema looks to be a very nice choice)
Rail (I've seen several pictures of people having a single rail on the bottom of their gun, how did they accomplish this?)

Also, what type of BBs work best in this gun? I am hoping .25s are best because that's what I ordered.

Is the front sight removable on the standard KM4A1? If so, would it be best to remove that and place my red dot scope directly where the carry handle originally was, or is it best to leave the front sight and the carry handle and buy a carry handle mount. If the first choice is possible and doesn't have many weaknesses, I'd prefer that.

I would like to be my squads DM too, so I need to seize any chance at accuracy while still keeping the fps ~400-450 so I can still use it for close range without injuring anyone.

#2 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 June 2008 - 05:16 PM

Personally, I recommend you just use the gun for a while before considering any upgrade.  However, a good tightbore barrel goes a long way and you can't change the hopup unit because it's a two peice design.  

And just for the record, we were tuning our KWA AEG's for Lion Claws 7.  a stock gun will shoot over 150 feet effective range.  One of my modified M4 with a 509mm barrel /w type 0 cylinder is shooting 221 feet.  everything else in the gun is stock.

KWA also recommend to use .25g bbs.

#3 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 10 June 2008 - 05:32 PM

 xXxGruntxXx, on Jun 10 2008, 03:43 PM, said:

Hey, I purchased a KM4A1 from airsoftgi a few days ago, and I'm wondering what kind of upgrades would be good to improve the gun.

I have a list of items I would eventually like to get, but I don't know how I should prioritize them. I am on a budget, so I can only make orders of about 50$ every other month or so.

Red Dot Scope (Leapers 40mm looks nice)
Magazines (I heard midcap are much better than highcap, so I'd like to purchase some nice midcaps)
Longer tightbore barrel (can't be too long or it'll suffer from barrel suck)
Hopup and Hopup Bucking (Systema looks to be a very nice choice)
Rail (I've seen several pictures of people having a single rail on the bottom of their gun, how did they accomplish this?)

Also, what type of BBs work best in this gun? I am hoping .25s are best because that's what I ordered.

Is the front sight removable on the standard KM4A1? If so, would it be best to remove that and place my red dot scope directly where the carry handle originally was, or is it best to leave the front sight and the carry handle and buy a carry handle mount. If the first choice is possible and doesn't have many weaknesses, I'd prefer that.

I would like to be my squads DM too, so I need to seize any chance at accuracy while still keeping the fps ~400-450 so I can still use it for close range without injuring anyone.

Dont get the leapers 40mm, if it gets hit by a BB, it will shatter the first lense and it is impossible to replace, I would suggest a different scope from this site:
www.airsoftgi.com
Look at some there, the leapers, as I said, will work as a good $50 paper weight once hit by a BB.

#4 xXxGruntxXx

xXxGruntxXx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Posted 10 June 2008 - 07:58 PM

 allizard, on Jun 10 2008, 09:16 PM, said:

Personally, I recommend you just use the gun for a while before considering any upgrade.  However, a good tightbore barrel goes a long way and you can't change the hopup unit because it's a two peice design.  

And just for the record, we were tuning our KWA AEG's for Lion Claws 7.  a stock gun will shoot over 150 feet effective range.  One of my modified M4 with a 509mm barrel /w type 0 cylinder is shooting 221 feet.  everything else in the gun is stock.

KWA also recommend to use .25g bbs.


Is it possible and beneficial to replace the hopup bucking? I heard the stock hopup bucking is only average.
Sorry, I'm new to upgrading AEGs, but what exactly is a type 0 cylinder? Is it available on Airsoftgi?

Thanks everyone for all your help. I really appreciate it.

#5 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 June 2008 - 09:46 PM

If you want to change the hopup bucking it's your options.   I'm just suggesting you should use the gun to it's fullest before deciding on upgrade.  Otherwise, you won't learned if upgrade you did on the gun is worth it or not.

Type 0 cylinder are cylinder that's fully cover without a ported holes on the side.  You should always match the  cylinder with correct length of the inner barrel.

#6 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 12 June 2008 - 01:52 PM

 xXxGruntxXx, on Jun 10 2008, 08:58 PM, said:

Is it possible and beneficial to replace the hopup bucking? I heard the stock hopup bucking is only average.
Sorry, I'm new to upgrading AEGs, but what exactly is a type 0 cylinder? Is it available on Airsoftgi?

Thanks everyone for all your help. I really appreciate it.

Airsoft GI does sell Type 0 cylinders, Im pretty sure, click HERE to visit their cylinder section.

WAIT WAIT WAIT, after a bit of looking on ASGI I found a Systema Type 0 cylinder for $12, pretty cheap for the best :D hope you love it. Click HERE to look at it.

Edited by vic_man4, 12 June 2008 - 02:02 PM.


#7 GOLGO 13

GOLGO 13

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego/Aomori Japan!/anywhere they send me
  • Interests:Airsoft, Hondas, Guns, Girls anything that takes my time and money pretty much =)

Posted 12 June 2008 - 02:38 PM

You can get M68 Aimpoint replicas from ebaybanned for 40-50 dollars shipped on www.ebaybanned.com and they look great on M4's. I cut out a piece of lexan with a coping saw to protect the front lens (lexan is $3 for a 2'x2' sheet at lowes)
The latest one I got even had real trades. (only in china...)
Posted Image
Posted Image

You can put a new hop up unit, but disassembling your gun will be a bit more complicated and you need to hollow out your magazine well in the same manner that you need to modify the Marui m-4. Its not difficult if you have a dremel or angle grinder.

You will also need a standard m4 air nozzle.

#8 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 12 June 2008 - 04:09 PM

 GOLGO 13, on Jun 12 2008, 03:38 PM, said:

You can get M68 Aimpoint replicas from ebaybanned for 40-50 dollars shipped on www.ebaybanned.com and they look great on M4's. I cut out a piece of lexan with a coping saw to protect the front lens (lexan is $3 for a 2'x2' sheet at lowes)
The latest one I got even had real trades. (only in china...)
Posted Image
Posted Image

You can put a new hop up unit, but disassembling your gun will be a bit more complicated and you need to hollow out your magazine well in the same manner that you need to modify the Marui m-4. Its not difficult if you have a dremel or angle grinder.

You will also need a standard m4 air nozzle.

Your gun looks like the SOPMOD (special operation peculair modifications) from Call Of Duty 4, I like it a lot, Im looking at a ACOG replice for $120. 4x zoom, very nice. Nice marui btw, I like P90's

#9 GOLGO 13

GOLGO 13

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego/Aomori Japan!/anywhere they send me
  • Interests:Airsoft, Hondas, Guns, Girls anything that takes my time and money pretty much =)

Posted 12 June 2008 - 04:14 PM

It looks alot more SOPMOD now, I have added a G&G SOPMOD stock and SOPMOD flash suppressor. Looks out of place using the full length m4 barrel but oh well. I like it.

Edited by GOLGO 13, 12 June 2008 - 04:14 PM.


#10 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 12 June 2008 - 04:20 PM

 GOLGO 13, on Jun 12 2008, 04:14 PM, said:

It looks alot more SOPMOD now, I have added a G&G SOPMOD stock and SOPMOD flash suppressor. Looks out of place using the full length m4 barrel but oh well. I like it.

I want that G&G SOPMOD Stock of ASGI, But if you want a true SOPMOD look, get this MOCK silencer, the threads are half way through the silencer so that it doesnt extend your barrel at all, but makes it look like a M4CQB with a normal silencer, click HERE to go to the item on Airsoft GI.

#11 GOLGO 13

GOLGO 13

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego/Aomori Japan!/anywhere they send me
  • Interests:Airsoft, Hondas, Guns, Girls anything that takes my time and money pretty much =)

Posted 12 June 2008 - 04:30 PM

I wanted to avoid using a suppressor unless i get an extended inner barrel.   WHich I don't plan to do at the moment.

The original idea was to replicate my duty weapon (pic below) but as soon as i bought the AN PAQ-4 replica, we switched to AN PEQ -2's. After that i was like F*ck it, I'm not dropping another 30-90 on a plastic battery box, and just put whatever i liked on it.

which is real????
Posted Image
Posted Image

#12 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 12 June 2008 - 04:43 PM

 GOLGO 13, on Jun 12 2008, 04:30 PM, said:

I wanted to avoid using a suppressor unless i get an extended inner barrel.   WHich I don't plan to do at the moment.

The original idea was to replicate my duty weapon (pic below) but as soon as i bought the AN PAQ-4 replica, we switched to AN PEQ -2's. After that i was like F*ck it, I'm not dropping another 30-90 on a plastic battery box, and just put whatever i liked on it.

which is real????
Posted Image
Posted Image

Wait wait, is that a battery box, or a actual flashlight/laser  :huh:

#13 GOLGO 13

GOLGO 13

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego/Aomori Japan!/anywhere they send me
  • Interests:Airsoft, Hondas, Guns, Girls anything that takes my time and money pretty much =)

Posted 13 June 2008 - 11:00 AM

PMed, lets try not to start a chat room! lol

#14 xXxGruntxXx

xXxGruntxXx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Posted 13 June 2008 - 12:38 PM

Wow, your M4 looks really nice. I do really like that scope, but Ebaybanned.com has its prices in Euros and I am from the US...

And vic_man4, the second link you posted was exactly the same, but did you mean this cylinder here?

I plan on getting a full M16 509mm tightbore barrel in the future, will that cylinder work with a barrel that long?

Thanks for all the help, guys!

#15 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 13 June 2008 - 02:01 PM

 xXxGruntxXx, on Jun 13 2008, 12:38 PM, said:

Wow, your M4 looks really nice. I do really like that scope, but Ebaybanned.com has its prices in Euros and I am from the US...

And vic_man4, the second link you posted was exactly the same, but did you mean this cylinder here?

I plan on getting a full M16 509mm tightbore barrel in the future, will that cylinder work with a barrel that long?

Thanks for all the help, guys!

A type 0 cylinder is what most regular 509mm barrel size M16 variants use. If you plan on extending your barrel through a mock silencer and get a 509mm/20inch barrel you should get a system area 1000 type 0 cylinder, apperntly they are the best but I have never personally used one.

#16 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 13 June 2008 - 02:02 PM

 xXxGruntxXx, on Jun 13 2008, 12:38 PM, said:

Wow, your M4 looks really nice. I do really like that scope, but Ebaybanned.com has its prices in Euros and I am from the US...

And vic_man4, the second link you posted was exactly the same, but did you mean this cylinder here?

I plan on getting a full M16 509mm tightbore barrel in the future, will that cylinder work with a barrel that long?

Thanks for all the help, guys!

A type 0 cylinder is what most regular 509mm barrel size M16 variants use. If you plan on extending your barrel through a mock silencer and get a 509mm/20inch barrel you should get a system area 1000 type 0 cylinder, apperntly they are the best but I have never personally used one.

#17 GOLGO 13

GOLGO 13

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego/Aomori Japan!/anywhere they send me
  • Interests:Airsoft, Hondas, Guns, Girls anything that takes my time and money pretty much =)

Posted 13 June 2008 - 03:29 PM

 xXxGruntxXx, on Jun 13 2008, 01:38 PM, said:

Wow, your M4 looks really nice. I do really like that scope, but Ebaybanned.com has its prices in Euros and I am from the US...
On the right hand column at the bottom there is a currency converter.

#18 xXxGruntxXx

xXxGruntxXx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Posted 16 June 2008 - 07:26 PM

Ok, I used this gun for the first time in a skirmish today, and I must say I am impressed. I have heard from several sources that the stock gun is inaccurate and a tighbore will correct the situation, and I can verify that. However, that did not stop me from getting the most kills out of everyone, using a completely stock gun, .25 KSC BBs, and a 9.6v 1200mah Intellect Nunchuck battery. It is quite an amazing gun.

I intend to purchase BBs first (man that crazy ROF drains your ammo :D) before I purchase a 509mm tightbore, cylinder, and mock silencer. I plan to buy a new hopup bucking in the future. Is there any other way to increase my accuracy or range while keeping below the FPS cap? Thanks!

#19 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 17 June 2008 - 12:44 PM

 xXxGruntxXx, on Jun 16 2008, 07:26 PM, said:

Ok, I used this gun for the first time in a skirmish today, and I must say I am impressed. I have heard from several sources that the stock gun is inaccurate and a tighbore will correct the situation, and I can verify that. However, that did not stop me from getting the most kills out of everyone, using a completely stock gun, .25 KSC BBs, and a 9.6v 1200mah Intellect Nunchuck battery. It is quite an amazing gun.

I intend to purchase BBs first (man that crazy ROF drains your ammo :D) before I purchase a 509mm tightbore, cylinder, and mock silencer. I plan to buy a new hopup bucking in the future. Is there any other way to increase my accuracy or range while keeping below the FPS cap? Thanks!

Whats your FPS cap? 350fps for CQB like most feilds? or 400fps for woodland? I would suggest, (All Thanks to Allizard for this CRAZY!?!?!? Idea that will actually work) spray some silicon in the hopup unit and turn all the way up for the hopup. Do this to chrono a lot under you FPS limit. <--- Almost Allizards exact words) But sounds good, the silicon should prevent your gun from jamming but let the BB slip through, so when someone asks to choro your gun before you play... theres the secret!

#20 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 17 June 2008 - 12:44 PM

 xXxGruntxXx, on Jun 16 2008, 07:26 PM, said:

Ok, I used this gun for the first time in a skirmish today, and I must say I am impressed. I have heard from several sources that the stock gun is inaccurate and a tighbore will correct the situation, and I can verify that. However, that did not stop me from getting the most kills out of everyone, using a completely stock gun, .25 KSC BBs, and a 9.6v 1200mah Intellect Nunchuck battery. It is quite an amazing gun.

I intend to purchase BBs first (man that crazy ROF drains your ammo :D) before I purchase a 509mm tightbore, cylinder, and mock silencer. I plan to buy a new hopup bucking in the future. Is there any other way to increase my accuracy or range while keeping below the FPS cap? Thanks!

Whats your FPS cap? 350fps for CQB like most feilds? or 400fps for woodland? I would suggest, (All Thanks to Allizard for this CRAZY!?!?!? Idea that will actually work) spray some silicon in the hopup unit and turn all the way up for the hopup. Do this to chrono a lot under you FPS limit. <--- Almost Allizards exact words) But sounds good, the silicon should prevent your gun from jamming but let the BB slip through, so when someone asks to choro your gun before you play... theres the secret!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users