Jump to content


Sr10 Or Sr12?


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 rofltaconazi

rofltaconazi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Country:

Posted 27 February 2012 - 12:59 PM

I am in the process of selling all of my Chinese clones and getting a KWA 2GX. In terms of range, what is the difference between the SR10 and the SR12? I want to set up a nice DMR eventually so I am leaning towards the SR12 but I have heard that it's cumbersome in some cases. Please enlighten me.

#2 jpip

jpip

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 324 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Air rifles, Airsoft, Coaching Softball, Ice Hockey, and Family Time.
  • Country:

Posted 27 February 2012 - 01:32 PM

Most any DMR would be considered cumbersome if your using it for something other. However, I have one (sr12) and I think it isn't. Go to the products area and take a look at the specs. I believe the sr10 is like 6" shorter with the stock all the way up. I have been told that the range between the sr10 and 12 is virtually the same even though the sr12 inner barrel is a little longer. They both have the same fps and the same spring.

The only reason I can think to go with the 12 over the 10 is the large battery capacity in ths stock. I use a 9.6v 4200 mah in my 12 and it fits just fine, and it lasts for a really long time. The crane stock on the 10 requires a nunchuck type battery, which I believe will have a lower Mah (battery life). If the shorter battery life isn't an issue then the sr10 might be the right choice, especially considering the extending/retracting stock. I personally think the sr10 stock looks much neater, but if your not too worried about "looks", then go with the sr12, which will, as I said, hold a larger battery. Either way....you win!

#3 jpip

jpip

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 324 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Air rifles, Airsoft, Coaching Softball, Ice Hockey, and Family Time.
  • Country:

Posted 27 February 2012 - 01:37 PM

Also, with the 12 I can nail pop can size targets all day long at 150 measured feet. So up to 200 feet, especially on auto, nothing stands a chance. Just use heavier bb's. .25 up to .30.  Test them out and see. I also have an ATP, which can nail a pizza box at 120 measured feet over and over again with .28's. You wont go wrong with any of the KWA's:)

#4 niko_gpsy

niko_gpsy

    What's a Warranty?

  • Super Moderator
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 5,886 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • Interests:Keeping those damn squirrels from putting their filthy little paws on my peaches in my backyard. Oh, Yes. It's not just a hobby, its a passion!!
  • Country:

Posted 27 February 2012 - 02:34 PM

I think the difference in range and accuracy between the 2 rifles are very minor. And if you want something that is easy to wield I would seriously consider the SR10.  I think the choice between the 2 would be also more of a difference in taste than anything.

#5 rofltaconazi

rofltaconazi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Country:

Posted 27 February 2012 - 07:18 PM

As far as battery life goes, how long does it take a KWA to kill a 9.6v 2000 mAh? At this point the only issue I face is buying a crane stock battery or a longer lasting large type. I have read the warranty but I just want to know first hand, would the switch to Deans void the warranty? Another issue is that AirsoftGI does not have SR12's and I don't want to wait too long or be on a 10 mile long waiting list for pre-orders.

#6 niko_gpsy

niko_gpsy

    What's a Warranty?

  • Super Moderator
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 5,886 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • Interests:Keeping those damn squirrels from putting their filthy little paws on my peaches in my backyard. Oh, Yes. It's not just a hobby, its a passion!!
  • Country:

Posted 27 February 2012 - 07:24 PM

A 2K MAh will probably give you about 3K shots in full auto.  And changing to deans will not void warranty as long as its one correctly.

#7 rofltaconazi

rofltaconazi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Country:

Posted 27 February 2012 - 07:35 PM

So that would hold me over for most of a day with 120rd midcaps and short controlled bursts or semi. I'm not much of a full auto guy. I think I'm going to shoot for the SR12 but if I must, settle for the SR10. Thank you.

#8 jpip

jpip

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 324 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Air rifles, Airsoft, Coaching Softball, Ice Hockey, and Family Time.
  • Country:

Posted 28 February 2012 - 02:46 AM

View Postrofltaconazi, on 27 February 2012 - 07:35 PM, said:

So that would hold me over for most of a day with 120rd midcaps and short controlled bursts or semi. I'm not much of a full auto guy. I think I'm going to shoot for the SR12 but if I must, settle for the SR10. Thank you.

Why would you have to settle? Get the sr12 if it is what you want.....most places have them stocked.

#9 titinc10

titinc10

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 28 February 2012 - 06:23 AM

Get the Sr12 and a side gun.
I played CQB with my old M4RIS and now i play CQB with my ner SR-10 with full stock... you just have to accomodate the gun before entering a room.

#10 Mike P

Mike P

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Country:

Posted 29 February 2012 - 08:25 AM

IMO get the SR10, its more felxible gun due to the crane stock, and its the same as the SR12, get  a kwa pistol, and youll gtg

#11 forty2

forty2

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Country:

Posted 29 February 2012 - 02:23 PM

I didn't really want to hijack this thread, but this is pretty much a related question. I'm also looking onto a SR12 as a DMR and can't find them in stock anywhere. I'd consider a SR10 if I can't rack one down but it'll end up costing me more in the long run as I modify it. Anyone know of a place that has SR12s in stock?

#12 jpip

jpip

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 324 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Air rifles, Airsoft, Coaching Softball, Ice Hockey, and Family Time.
  • Country:

Posted 29 February 2012 - 03:44 PM

View Postforty2, on 29 February 2012 - 02:23 PM, said:

I didn't really want to hijack this thread, but this is pretty much a related question. I'm also looking onto a SR12 as a DMR and can't find them in stock anywhere. I'd consider a SR10 if I can't rack one down but it'll end up costing me more in the long run as I modify it. Anyone know of a place that has SR12s in stock?

http://www.crazycrom...es/kwa.html?p=2

This one has them. It's in Indiana, just down the road from me. Actually about an hour and a half. Never bought anything from them, but never heard anything bad.

Just found this one too.

http://www.airsoftar...=12&SortOrder=4

Edited by jpip, 29 February 2012 - 04:03 PM.


#13 gcw360

gcw360

    Supreme Guru

  • Super Moderator
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 11,738 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Jersey
  • Interests:Airsoft (Especially repair and customizing), Fly Fishing, Fossils (Especially Dino), Snakes, Photography
  • Country:

Posted 29 February 2012 - 07:26 PM

SR 12's will be restocked soon.

#14 SageF.Pierce

SageF.Pierce

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 29 February 2012 - 08:23 PM

I was wondering the reason behind the delay on SR 12's. I ordered mine right before the supposed date of arrival to AirsoftGi, but when I emailed them a few days after the SR 12 was supposedly in stock. They said the shipment had been delayed do to conditions beyond their control. What might of been those reasons have been and if it was a problem with the SR 12 how did you fix said theoretical problem. Also when you say "restocked soon" how soon is soon, because AirsoftGi said they believed it would be middle to late march...

#15 aZtec

aZtec

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 159 posts
  • Country:

Posted 01 March 2012 - 11:38 AM

If you EVER plan to just go in the general direction of reenactment you might also consider the following:
While the SR12 isn't a replica real steel military rifle (aside from SAM-R, which is a semi auto only DMR), the SR10 could be any type of civilian rifle, as most civilian shooters have rifles like these. Also by shortening the barrel to M4 size you have a SOPMOD Block 2-style rifle.

Barrel length doesn't really affect accuracy from what I know, as long as you stay between 300-590mm and have the correct cylinder for the b length (which KWA have of course). Hopup and choice of ammo is much much more important accuracy wise. Also I think due to it's shorter length (you won't use the stock at "5" position other than if you're a really long guy - I'm 6'5" and an SR12 was too long for me, I use the retr. stock at "3") it's a much more skirmishable gun.

Performance wise you'll really love them both ;)

#16 kwaispro727

kwaispro727

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 973 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Jersey
  • Interests:Fishing, swimming, airsoft, real firearms, cars
  • Country:

Posted 01 March 2012 - 02:17 PM

The SR12 is in stock right here:
http://www.airsoftgi...roducts_id=5634

Regarding the realism of the SR10, I thought it was designed for a 7.62mm NATO instead of a 5.56 for the seals.  The SR standing for "SEAL Recon".  Maybe I'm thinking of a different gun.

#17 Gigs27

Gigs27

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Country:

Posted 01 March 2012 - 04:12 PM

I have my SR10 and i put a KWA full stock on it. I'm 6 foot and its the perfect size for me. With my AFG on it, it is very easy and comfortable to hold it in a shooting stance, even without support. And it looks very cool.

#18 forty2

forty2

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Country:

Posted 01 March 2012 - 05:45 PM

View Postjpip, on 29 February 2012 - 03:44 PM, said:


http://www.crazycrom...es/kwa.html?p=2

This one has them. It's in Indiana, just down the road from me. Actually about an hour and a half. Never bought anything from them, but never heard anything bad.

Just found this one too.

http://www.airsoftar...=12&SortOrder=4

Never heard of the first one, may give them a go.  The second is special order non-stock, certain to take longer than waiting for Evike or GI.

View Postkwaispro727, on 01 March 2012 - 02:17 PM, said:

The SR12 is in stock right here:
http://www.airsoftgi...roducts_id=5634

That's for pre-order, GI has been out of stock on the SR12s for quite some time now, at least since Thanksgiving.

#19 SageF.Pierce

SageF.Pierce

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 02 March 2012 - 07:10 AM

Yeah they had an arrival time stated for a month ago but then it was delayed. I already have it preordered with AirsoftGi I was just wondering when they might actually get it.

#20 superfrog

superfrog

    Post Whore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Asheville NC
  • Country:

Posted 02 March 2012 - 07:59 AM

crazy cromag airsoft emporium has them in stock right now. I buy from him and he is great.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users