Jump to content


M4S Battery Options


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 Doctor Kajita

Doctor Kajita

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 31 May 2008 - 09:10 AM

I just purchased the M4S and the battery I bought does not fit into the hand guard.  This is the battery I bought: http://www.airsoftgi...roducts_id=2772

Can someone list what my battery options are?  

For the record, I did ask a KWA rep if the battery in the link would work and she confirmed yes.  No complaints, um, other than it didn't fit :)

#2 Doctor Kajita

Doctor Kajita

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 31 May 2008 - 06:10 PM

I went to the Oakland Airsoft Extreme and the guy there sold me a 8.4v mini (5 cell) and said this is the only battery pack that will fit the foregrip without modification.  Can someone confirm this?

#3 bigjohn

bigjohn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 01 June 2008 - 06:17 AM

View PostDoctorKajita, on May 31 2008, 10:10 PM, said:

I went to the Oakland Airsoft Extreme and the guy there sold me a 8.4v mini (5 cell) and said this is the only battery pack that will fit the foregrip without modification.  Can someone confirm this?

i use the intellect 9.6v 1400mah split pack with mine a little tight just becarefull you dont pinch the wires when closing the handgaurd.
http://www.trinityai...-intellect.aspx

bigjohn

Edited by bigjohn, 01 June 2008 - 06:17 AM.


#4 Doctor Kajita

Doctor Kajita

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 01 June 2008 - 11:40 AM

View Postbigjohn, on Jun 1 2008, 07:17 AM, said:

i use the intellect 9.6v 1400mah split pack with mine a little tight just becarefull you dont pinch the wires when closing the handgaurd.
http://www.trinityai...-intellect.aspx

bigjohn

Thanks, this then confirms that those split packs fit.

#5 bigjohn

bigjohn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 01 June 2008 - 01:05 PM

View PostDoctorKajita, on Jun 1 2008, 03:40 PM, said:

Thanks, this then confirms that those split packs fit.

yes the 9.6 1200 and the 9.6 1400 will fit the 9.6 2000(aa size)and the 9.6 3600 mah will not.
i have 2 kwa m4s and i cut out the ribs on the lower handgaurd for more room. and wire tied the battery leads to the upper handgaurd works real well. i used a dremel tool with and cut off wheel to make a little more room in the lower hand gaurd. my other m4-s is stock and it works also. just a little tight. gotta watch the batt. leads. hope this helps.

bigjohn

#6 Doctor Kajita

Doctor Kajita

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 01 June 2008 - 06:24 PM

View Postbigjohn, on Jun 1 2008, 02:05 PM, said:

yes the 9.6 1200 and the 9.6 1400 will fit the 9.6 2000(aa size)and the 9.6 3600 mah will not.
i have 2 kwa m4s and i cut out the ribs on the lower handgaurd for more room. and wire tied the battery leads to the upper handgaurd works real well. i used a dremel tool with and cut off wheel to make a little more room in the lower hand gaurd. my other m4-s is stock and it works also. just a little tight. gotta watch the batt. leads. hope this helps.

bigjohn

Intellect also makes a 1600 (http://www.airsoftgi...roducts_id=3372).  I presume this is all the same size.

Thanks for your response, helps!

#7 bigjohn

bigjohn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 02 June 2008 - 02:44 PM

check the size of the cells.!!!!!!!!in the pics the the 9.6 3600 mah looks the same size as the 1400
mah but it is larger. compare the size before you buy.!!!!!!!!!!!
bigjohn

#8 Doctor Kajita

Doctor Kajita

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 02 June 2008 - 06:26 PM

View Postbigjohn, on Jun 2 2008, 03:44 PM, said:

check the size of the cells.!!!!!!!!in the pics the the 9.6 3600 mah looks the same size as the 1400
mah but it is larger. compare the size before you buy.!!!!!!!!!!!
bigjohn

ok, thx

#9 FunWithGunz

FunWithGunz

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 05 June 2008 - 07:12 PM

I am ordering the M4 tactical soon from ASGI. No one has yet confirmed or denied if either of these two batteries will fit: Intelect 9.6 1600mah, Intelect 9.6 2000mah. I know the 1600s cells look to be the same size as the 1200 and 1400 wich have been confirmed but I cannot judge the 2000mah from the picture. If anyone has any information that would save me a lot of time and trouble.
-Thanks

#10 Doctor Kajita

Doctor Kajita

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 05 June 2008 - 11:17 PM

View PostFunWithGunz, on Jun 5 2008, 08:12 PM, said:

I am ordering the M4 tactical soon from ASGI. No one has yet confirmed or denied if either of these two batteries will fit: Intelect 9.6 1600mah, Intelect 9.6 2000mah. I know the 1600s cells look to be the same size as the 1200 and 1400 wich have been confirmed but I cannot judge the 2000mah from the picture. If anyone has any information that would save me a lot of time and trouble.
-Thanks

1200 and 1400, not 1600.

#11 FunWithGunz

FunWithGunz

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 06 June 2008 - 09:36 AM

View PostDoctorKajita, on Jun 5 2008, 11:17 PM, said:

1200 and 1400, not 1600.
Thanks, you saved me a return or mod of my gun!

#12 Doctor Kajita

Doctor Kajita

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 06 June 2008 - 11:26 AM

View PostFunWithGunz, on Jun 6 2008, 10:36 AM, said:

Thanks, you saved me a return or mod of my gun!

I'm only basing this off what bigjohn stated in this thread.  I haven't tested the fitment myself.  He has confirmed 1200 fits in his gun and it seems that the 1400 uses the same size cell as 1200.

Edited by DoctorKajita, 06 June 2008 - 11:27 AM.


#13 Doctor Kajita

Doctor Kajita

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 06 June 2008 - 12:30 PM

I called Airsoft GI and asked if there's a size difference in cells between the 1200 and 1400 and the dude said there is none but the 1600 is a little bigger.

Edited by DoctorKajita, 06 June 2008 - 12:30 PM.


#14 FunWithGunz

FunWithGunz

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 06 June 2008 - 01:33 PM

View PostDoctorKajita, on Jun 6 2008, 12:30 PM, said:

I called Airsoft GI and asked if there's a size difference in cells between the 1200 and 1400 and the dude said there is none but the 1600 is a little bigger.
Thats good to hear that from ASGI directly.

#15 FunWithGunz

FunWithGunz

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 06 June 2008 - 01:34 PM

Interestingly, one of my friends said this will fit in his JG M4 s-system Intellect9.6 3600mah crane and said that it should fit in the KWA handguard but I have not seen it personally. I am tempted by the 3600mah but dont want to take a chance on it and I think I will go with the confirmed 1400mah unless someone has used the 3600 personally.

#16 bigjohn

bigjohn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 07 June 2008 - 05:20 AM

View PostFunWithGunz, on Jun 6 2008, 05:34 PM, said:

Interestingly, one of my friends said this will fit in his JG M4 s-system Intellect9.6 3600mah crane and said that it should fit in the KWA handguard but I have not seen it personally. I am tempted by the 3600mah but dont want to take a chance on it and I think I will go with the confirmed 1400mah unless someone has used the 3600 personally.

the 3600 wont fit its the larger cell. i had the same pack an it wouldnt evan go in my ca-m4 with reg. handgaurd.
bigjohn

#17 FunWithGunz

FunWithGunz

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 07 June 2008 - 07:08 AM

View Postbigjohn, on Jun 7 2008, 05:20 AM, said:

the 3600 wont fit its the larger cell. i had the same pack an it wouldnt evan go in my ca-m4 with reg. handgaurd.
bigjohn

Thanks for clearing that up. It sounded a little far fetched.

#18 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 08 June 2008 - 09:46 AM

The best way to have a large celled battery is to:
1) use a PEQ battery box (in my opinion it looks stupid because its fake)
2) a external battery pouch which can fit onto the back of the stock of the gun (looks bettery than a PEQ but is still effects the look of the gun)
3)just get a crane stock which is the best option because it doesnt interfer with the look or operation of the gun

All of the options that I have just listed can be found at www.airsoftgi.com

#19 FunWithGunz

FunWithGunz

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 08 June 2008 - 12:46 PM

View Postvic_man4, on Jun 8 2008, 10:46 AM, said:

The best way to have a large celled battery is to:
1) use a PEQ battery box (in my opinion it looks stupid because its fake)
2) a external battery pouch which can fit onto the back of the stock of the gun (looks bettery than a PEQ but is still effects the look of the gun)
3)just get a crane stock which is the best option because it doesnt interfer with the look or operation of the gun

All of the options that I have just listed can be found at www.airsoftgi.com
The crane may be the best option of those. But a solid stock like that of an M16 would be the best option in terms of cost because you'r not as restricted on the size and shape of your battery like the other battery options. I know people complain about the length of the solid stock for CQB ect. but there are a few options as far as length goes and it is a much better shooting platform. Best of all......no exposed wires!!!! :lol:

#20 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 08 June 2008 - 01:18 PM

View PostFunWithGunz, on Jun 8 2008, 12:46 PM, said:

The crane may be the best option of those. But a solid stock like that of an M16 would be the best option in terms of cost because you'r not as restricted on the size and shape of your battery like the other battery options. I know people complain about the length of the solid stock for CQB ect. but there are a few options as far as length goes and it is a much better shooting platform. Best of all......no exposed wires!!!! :lol:

lol, I hate full stocks, they just impare my movements for some odd reason. Weither its a MP5 with a full stock or a M4 or M16, I just hate full stocks. Thats why crane is the way to go for me! :D




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users