Jump to content


Any Recommendations?


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#21 ihave99pennies4u

ihave99pennies4u

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Interests:working out, airsoft, racing, music, football, Championship Off-Road Racing (CORR. Gotta look it up)

Posted 23 January 2009 - 01:37 PM

Was this a common problem for the Generation 1's?
Posted Image

Posted Image

Edit: sorry for the poor picture quality, I had to take them on my phone.

Edited by ihave99pennies4u, 23 January 2009 - 01:38 PM.


#22 Spiggy

Spiggy

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,136 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:City of Industry
  • Country:

Posted 23 January 2009 - 04:00 PM

I know of only two scenarios that can potentially lead to this breakage.

1. Have you opened and closed your receiver a lot without paying attention to the nozzle?
-This can lead to accidentally crushing or weakening the nozzle over time and thus breaking the cylinder head.

2. Is your tappet plate snapped/Are you using low quality bbs?
-In some cases, a poorly manufactured bb can hold itself in the chamber. When the tappet forces forward, the material snaps off, breaking the tappet and nozzle.  Occasionally, the situation escalates to the cylinder head breaking off at or during dis assembly with the newly detached nozzle still stuck in battery inside the chamber. Opening the receiver snaps the nozzle off.

#23 ihave99pennies4u

ihave99pennies4u

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Interests:working out, airsoft, racing, music, football, Championship Off-Road Racing (CORR. Gotta look it up)

Posted 23 January 2009 - 04:29 PM

View PostSpiggy, on Jan 23 2009, 04:00 PM, said:

I know of only two scenarios that can potentially lead to this breakage.

1. Have you opened and closed your receiver a lot without paying attention to the nozzle?
-This can lead to accidentally crushing or weakening the nozzle over time and thus breaking the cylinder head.

2. Is your tappet plate snapped/Are you using low quality bbs?
-In some cases, a poorly manufactured bb can hold itself in the chamber. When the tappet forces forward, the material snaps off, breaking the tappet and nozzle.  Occasionally, the situation escalates to the cylinder head breaking off at or during dis assembly with the newly detached nozzle still stuck in battery inside the chamber. Opening the receiver snaps the nozzle off.
Well, I installed a MadBull M150 and fired 2 rounds in semi-auto, and the piston locked back to where I had to pry the upper receiver off. When I got the gearbox off, the nozzle was flopping around. I had never looked at the cylinder, or the tapet plate, but it looks fine. And, I had been using wal-mart bb's, so the problem could lie there.

Edit: What is the BEST cylinder and cylinder head? KWA, Systema, etc. etc...which one?
Any Help? I really want to get this back together, and have it able to handle the M150...in semi.

Edited by ihave99pennies4u, 24 January 2009 - 06:24 PM.


#24 Stealthmaster14

Stealthmaster14

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 423 posts
  • Location:here :D
  • Interests:airsoft DUH, guitar, Jesus, video games, sports...etc

Posted 24 January 2009 - 09:43 PM

View Postihave99pennies4u, on Jan 23 2009, 05:29 PM, said:

Well, I installed a MadBull M150 and fired 2 rounds in semi-auto, and the piston locked back to where I had to pry the upper receiver off. When I got the gearbox off, the nozzle was flopping around. I had never looked at the cylinder, or the tapet plate, but it looks fine. And, I had been using wal-mart bb's, so the problem could lie there.

Edit: What is the BEST cylinder and cylinder head? KWA, Systema, etc. etc...which one?
Any Help? I really want to get this back together, and have it able to handle the M150...in semi.

You used walmart bbs in a 300 dollar gun.....:blink:

#25 striker6

striker6

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fighting The Forces Of Evil

Posted 24 January 2009 - 11:14 PM

M150 + Cheap Walmart BBs= Epic fail.

#26 kempobmx1

kempobmx1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Framingham, MA
  • Interests:Airsoft, Cars
  • Country:

Posted 25 January 2009 - 12:00 AM

Agreed. What were they, .12s?

#27 apollolanding

apollolanding

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Location:People's Republic of New Jersey
  • Interests:Shooting sports, photography, WWII aviation, anything aerospace.

Posted 25 January 2009 - 09:59 AM

My stock cyl head had an issue but it was caught by my airsmith just prior to total failure (tube was wobbly).  There was no abuse to mine, the gearbox had yet to be opened and the temps were still warm.  Of course the reason he was in there was the trigger post failure so maybe the head was damaged when the post broke.  Not sure if that can happen?  Anyway, all problems fixed.

Oh I should mention.  I tried a MadBull 130 spring (the gold one) and I could not get the gun to run properly, no matter what voltage battery or motor I tried (stock and EG1000).  I put a Systema 120 spring back in and everything went back to normal (390-395 FPS with .25s).  I know brand of spring "shouldn't" make a difference but my gun didn't like it one bit.
  

View Postihave99pennies4u, on Jan 23 2009, 04:37 PM, said:

Was this a common problem for the Generation 1's?
Posted Image

Posted Image

Edit: sorry for the poor picture quality, I had to take them on my phone.


#28 ihave99pennies4u

ihave99pennies4u

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Interests:working out, airsoft, racing, music, football, Championship Off-Road Racing (CORR. Gotta look it up)

Posted 26 January 2009 - 12:47 PM

View Postkempobmx1, on Jan 25 2009, 12:00 AM, said:

Agreed. What were they, .12s?
Ha, no the .20's.
Anyways, what is the best replacement cylinder set under $50 that can handle a MadBull M150 spring?
Apollolanding, was your MadBull M130 about 1 and 1/2 to 2 inches longer than the stock spring, or should this matter?

Edited by ihave99pennies4u, 26 January 2009 - 12:48 PM.


#29 Guest_Shogo_*

Guest_Shogo_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 January 2009 - 02:44 PM

I like Modify FTK, they are basically OEM of Guarder.  Otherwise, Guarder (obviously) and Hurricane as well.
Systema stuff is overrated.

#30 ihave99pennies4u

ihave99pennies4u

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Interests:working out, airsoft, racing, music, football, Championship Off-Road Racing (CORR. Gotta look it up)

Posted 28 January 2009 - 08:09 AM

View PostShogo, on Jan 27 2009, 02:44 PM, said:

I like Modify FTK, they are basically OEM of Guarder.  Otherwise, Guarder (obviously) and Hurricane as well.
Systema stuff is overrated.
Do I need to replace my air nozzle also since the cylinder head broke?

#31 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 January 2009 - 09:57 PM

if you are using KWA hopup unit you don't need to change the nozzle.

#32 ihave99pennies4u

ihave99pennies4u

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Interests:working out, airsoft, racing, music, football, Championship Off-Road Racing (CORR. Gotta look it up)

Posted 31 January 2009 - 06:09 PM

View Postallizard, on Jan 28 2009, 09:57 PM, said:

if you are using KWA hopup unit you don't need to change the nozzle.
Ok. Just got the M150 installed and running:
Posted Image\
EDIT: And, yes, that is a diaper in the background....not mine though ;)

Just curious, What modifications can I do to make it able to handle it in full auto for a long time?

Edited by ihave99pennies4u, 31 January 2009 - 06:11 PM.


#33 Stealthmaster14

Stealthmaster14

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 423 posts
  • Location:here :D
  • Interests:airsoft DUH, guitar, Jesus, video games, sports...etc

Posted 01 February 2009 - 10:02 AM

View Postihave99pennies4u, on Jan 31 2009, 07:09 PM, said:

Ok. Just got the M150 installed and running:
Posted Image\
EDIT: And, yes, that is a diaper in the background....not mine though ;)

Just curious, What modifications can I do to make it able to handle it in full auto for a long time?

DANG!   :blink: Glad that's not my body....


Honestly, there is nothing you can do to make the gun run auto for a long time, especially in V2s.  (where do you get that shock absorber thing for V2s?)  Anything that people would suggest, you pretty much already have.  (KWA)  

Right now, airsoft just doesn't have the parts to run that set up super reliably.  (it's not that they can't make it, it would just cost way too much and no one would really buy the parts)  

Besides, why the heck are you wanting to use a 500 fps rifle in full auto?!

OT- but please tell me you aren't still using Walmart bbs?

Edited by Stealthmaster14, 01 February 2009 - 10:05 AM.


#34 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 01 February 2009 - 10:31 AM

View Postihave99pennies4u, on Jan 31 2009, 07:09 PM, said:

Ok. Just got the M150 installed and running:
EDIT: And, yes, that is a diaper in the background....not mine though ;)

Just curious, What modifications can I do to make it able to handle it in full auto for a long time?
I've heard that Air Brakes will make your gun last longer since they cause turbulance and remove the hard impact from the piston head onto the cylinder head, but your going to have to custom make one yourself and it lowers FPS (depending on length of air brake).
If you want you could also go type 0 and downgrade spring and still hit near or around 500fps.

KWA's stock cylinder head already has a very thick sorbo pad on it so thats out of the question.

Heres a link for that air brake (How to):
http://www.airsoftfo...Mod-t82292.html

Edited by vic_man4, 01 February 2009 - 10:32 AM.


#35 brooklyn468

brooklyn468

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 559 posts

Posted 01 February 2009 - 11:34 AM

You may want to re-enforce the shell of the body.

I heard that Shock Transfer Systems do well-
http://www.v2fix.com/

#36 apollolanding

apollolanding

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Location:People's Republic of New Jersey
  • Interests:Shooting sports, photography, WWII aviation, anything aerospace.

Posted 01 February 2009 - 02:05 PM

Yes the MadBull and the Systema springs are longer than the stock spring.  One thing I should mention is that spring stiffness varries between manufacturers.  My KWA 120 spring exerted about the same amount of force as a Systema 110.  The MadBull 130 is stiffer than a Prometheus 135.  It really comes down to trial and error which in a one piece gearbox can be time consuming.  The Madbull is still sitting in my parts box because I read somewhere the annonized coating can flake off.  Not sure how true that is but I didn't want to take any chances in my latest project... If only KWA put out a SCAR... I wouldn't have had to drop $350 in Prommy upgrades to get it to where my KM4S was "out of the box".  But my team switched to SCARs as our primaries and well I am a FNH fanboy in both real steel and airsoft so I had to do what I had to do  :mellow:      

View Postihave99pennies4u, on Jan 26 2009, 03:47 PM, said:

Ha, no the .20's.
Anyways, what is the best replacement cylinder set under $50 that can handle a MadBull M150 spring?
Apollolanding, was your MadBull M130 about 1 and 1/2 to 2 inches longer than the stock spring, or should this matter?


#37 ihave99pennies4u

ihave99pennies4u

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Interests:working out, airsoft, racing, music, football, Championship Off-Road Racing (CORR. Gotta look it up)

Posted 01 February 2009 - 06:09 PM

View PostStealthmaster14, on Feb 1 2009, 11:02 AM, said:

DANG!   :blink: Glad that's not my body....


Honestly, there is nothing you can do to make the gun run auto for a long time, especially in V2s.  (where do you get that shock absorber thing for V2s?)  Anything that people would suggest, you pretty much already have.  (KWA)  

Right now, airsoft just doesn't have the parts to run that set up super reliably.  (it's not that they can't make it, it would just cost way too much and no one would really buy the parts)  

Besides, why the heck are you wanting to use a 500 fps rifle in full auto?!

OT- but please tell me you aren't still using Walmart bbs?
For those two test rounds, yes, I was still using Walmart bbs. But, now I'm using KSC .25's.
Something just recently broke in my trigger. I found a little rectangular chunk of metal above the tappet plate right above the trigger mech. Any help on what this is?
Also, The KWA stock trigger mech is out of stock, and I need one by Friday this week. What is a good replacement one that won't break?

Edited by ihave99pennies4u, 01 February 2009 - 06:15 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users