Jump to content


M16 hopup replacement


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Captainhj17

Captainhj17

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Location:Central PA

Posted 25 November 2008 - 10:47 AM

I just received my KWA M16 today and while it is an xmas gift, I already bought a madbull barrel for it and will need to change the bucking but I'm not sure it will fit.
The reason I need to change it is I just played my first cold game last weekend, 35 degrees cold, here in PA and in my one gun I had a Systema bucking, and in my G&G it came with their special green cold weather bucking. I noticed a HUGE difference, to the extent that the first 20 shots would just go straight into the ground with the systema, and the G&G's bucking would work perfect from shot #1. So switching the bucking for me will be a must do in order for me to be able to use the gun this winter.
I will try the stock hop up + G&G bucking+ madbull and see if it works, if not though I was thinking about buying a Systema Hop-up chamber. Will this fit? Ive heard that KWA's hopup is a little different but I dont know if it can accept an aftermarket hopup. Also Ive read some places that if you switch your hopup chamber that you should switch your nozzle too. Is this also something I should switch; if so I will buy a systema M4/m16 nozzle and install it as well.

#2 Stealthmaster14

Stealthmaster14

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 423 posts
  • Location:here :D
  • Interests:airsoft DUH, guitar, Jesus, video games, sports...etc

Posted 25 November 2008 - 11:37 AM

I believe the Systema hop up unit will fit, but you will need to change your air nozzle.  

So the green G&G buckings are for cold weather huh?  I heard that, but it was from a review on ASGI..... (no offense if that was you who wrote it, just saying they aren't usually trust worthy)

#3 Captainhj17

Captainhj17

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Location:Central PA

Posted 25 November 2008 - 12:07 PM

View PostStealthmaster14, on Nov 25 2008, 02:37 PM, said:

I believe the Systema hop up unit will fit, but you will need to change your air nozzle.  

So the green G&G buckings are for cold weather huh?  I heard that, but it was from a review on ASGI..... (no offense if that was you who wrote it, just saying they aren't usually trust worthy)


Nope wasnt me that wrote it. It is displayed both on by SCAR box and on the bucking packaging that my new green hop up came with. It says "New Material For Low Temperature (-40)" probably degrees C  ;)  and yes it does indeed work.

Edited by Captainhj17, 25 November 2008 - 12:08 PM.


#4 Stealthmaster14

Stealthmaster14

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 423 posts
  • Location:here :D
  • Interests:airsoft DUH, guitar, Jesus, video games, sports...etc

Posted 25 November 2008 - 01:56 PM

That's interesting, thanks for the info.  How does the bucking compare with your systema in normal weather?

good luck with your gun!

Edited by Stealthmaster14, 25 November 2008 - 01:56 PM.


#5 Captainhj17

Captainhj17

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Location:Central PA

Posted 25 November 2008 - 02:16 PM

The Systema bucking and G&G seem to be about the same, although the Systema is not really worn in yet so it may be a bit better once worn in. This is only in cool-warm weather though, anything below that and the G&G wins hands down.

#6 hammer

hammer

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 85 posts
  • Location:Pi

Posted 25 November 2008 - 07:26 PM

hmm...  I didn't have luck fitting the systema bucking i bought :(

#7 Captainhj17

Captainhj17

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Location:Central PA

Posted 25 November 2008 - 07:29 PM

View Posthammer, on Nov 25 2008, 10:26 PM, said:

hmm...  I didn't have luck fitting the systema bucking i bought :(


The systema bucking I have was used successfully in a G&G and G&P hopup chamber. Thats why im asking about a Systema Hop Up chamber for the KWA, in order for me to successfully fit a G&G cold weather bucking into my KWA.

#8 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 November 2008 - 10:32 AM

You'll have better luck fitting a TM hopup unit than a systema hopup unit.

#9 Captainhj17

Captainhj17

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Location:Central PA

Posted 26 November 2008 - 02:12 PM

Thanks Allizard,
Would I need to replace the Nozzle as well? And if so what brand should I use for a good mesh between the TM hopup chamber.

#10 Stealthmaster14

Stealthmaster14

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 423 posts
  • Location:here :D
  • Interests:airsoft DUH, guitar, Jesus, video games, sports...etc

Posted 26 November 2008 - 02:14 PM

You would need to replace the nozzle

Most likely a TM nozzle :)  

Ask Doctor Kajita, he did what you are looking into :)

Edited by Stealthmaster14, 26 November 2008 - 02:17 PM.


#11 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 November 2008 - 04:07 PM

For the record, TM hopup unit works.  I've done it already.  Yes you need to change nozzle.

#12 kurikobun

kurikobun

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 26 November 2008 - 09:28 PM

View Postallizard, on Nov 26 2008, 04:07 PM, said:

For the record, TM hopup unit works.  I've done it already.  Yes you need to change nozzle.


I have also done it. Works great.


However a JG hop-up unit does not work in KWA. BB's won't feed. Strangely.. the JG works inside a TM. I have no idea why.

#13 Stealthmaster14

Stealthmaster14

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 423 posts
  • Location:here :D
  • Interests:airsoft DUH, guitar, Jesus, video games, sports...etc

Posted 27 November 2008 - 11:43 AM

View Postkurikobun, on Nov 26 2008, 10:28 PM, said:

I have also done it. Works great.


However a JG hop-up unit does not work in KWA. BB's won't feed. Strangely.. the JG works inside a TM. I have no idea why.

Perhaps your KWA is biased towards cheap parts? ha ha




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users