Jump to content


KWA M4A1 Trouble


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 chaosfrantic

chaosfrantic

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 August 2008 - 07:05 PM

MY KWA M4A1 is brand new. I've had it for about a week. I shot about a good 3000 rounds so far with no problems until this morning. Heres the problem:

When I take aim and shoot, my KWA M4 hits the target alright - but 3 inches below from where I point it at. My gun is totally stock, I am currently using the stock iron sights for the front and the rear, funny thing is this never happened yesterday. I've switched onto several sights hoping to solve this aiming problem, EOTech, red dot, etc. NOTHING CHANGED, even with a different elevation and windage the same problem occurs.

I tried adjusing the hop-up it self, I rolled back on fourth and it seems the hop-up doesn't even exist. I also test fired several shots at several distances. From 10 feet to almost 50 feet - same results.

Has anybody encountered the same problem? Anybody know what is going on?
I'm guessing I need to clean the gun right? But which component? Bucking? Hop-up assembly? Something needs to be lubed?

Perhaps my hop-up broke or? I don't know. It was working fine yesterday, its like the gun just doesn't want to work this morning.

I've included a picture to show to screw up this is.
I need everyones advice. All comments are appreciated.

-Rick

Attached Files


Edited by chaosfrantic, 17 August 2008 - 07:07 PM.


#2 Dr Pepper 6pk

Dr Pepper 6pk

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:airsoft (duh), cars, computers, movies, games, firearms, military

Posted 17 August 2008 - 07:08 PM

its pretty obvious you need to adjust your iron sights, use the two dials on the rear sight

#3 chaosfrantic

chaosfrantic

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 August 2008 - 07:13 PM

View PostDr Pepper 6pk, on Aug 17 2008, 11:08 PM, said:

its pretty obvious you need to adjust your iron sights, use the two dials on the rear sight

Tried that already nothing happened.

#4 Stealthmaster14

Stealthmaster14

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 423 posts
  • Location:here :D
  • Interests:airsoft DUH, guitar, Jesus, video games, sports...etc

Posted 17 August 2008 - 08:39 PM

so even if you adjust the hop up all the way it doesn't work?  It sounds like your strike chamber is messed up.  Or the bucking.

#5 Dr Pepper 6pk

Dr Pepper 6pk

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:airsoft (duh), cars, computers, movies, games, firearms, military

Posted 17 August 2008 - 08:46 PM

View Postchaosfrantic, on Aug 17 2008, 08:13 PM, said:

Tried that already nothing happened.
Nothings supposed to happen.  When you zero your sights you bring adjust your sights to where the rounds are landing.  If the shots are landing 3 inches below where your current sights are pointing at, then raise your rear aperture sight

#6 elite

elite

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Posted 17 August 2008 - 08:48 PM

did u clean the barrel and hop up?

#7 Moulde

Moulde

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 18 August 2008 - 04:01 AM

Why dont you just take a look at how to bb's fly?
They should fly in a straight line, and then finally make a little jump and then crash to the ground..

If they dont, you hopup is probably stupid..
Try to put in another bucking, if you can disassemble it..

Which i find is quite tricky, actually i havent found a way to open it yet :S

#8 chaosfrantic

chaosfrantic

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 18 August 2008 - 06:13 AM

Finally you guys are the only ones that understand. Some other people on my other forums keep saying i'm shooting too close or too far away.

Edited by chaosfrantic, 18 August 2008 - 06:14 AM.


#9 bigjohn

bigjohn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 18 August 2008 - 06:49 AM

you might be running out of adjustment on your rear sight. try to lower your front sight then readjust your rear sight.

bigjohn

#10 brooklyn468

brooklyn468

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 559 posts

Posted 18 August 2008 - 09:03 AM

Well the tip of the front sight is about 3 inches higher than the barrel...

I really don't see the problem. Hop- up only works after a certain distance. If you shoot at 10 ft and it hits 3 inches below where you shoot, that makes sence, because the barrel is slightly below the front sight. Adjusting doesn't work unless you aim at the same point every time you shoot.

Although it may help, give adjusting the sights a try and shoot from a set distance every time.

#11 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 18 August 2008 - 05:37 PM

View Postbrooklyn468, on Aug 18 2008, 10:03 AM, said:

Well the tip of the front sight is about 3 inches higher than the barrel...

I really don't see the problem. Hop- up only works after a certain distance. If you shoot at 10 ft and it hits 3 inches below where you shoot, that makes sence, because the barrel is slightly below the front sight. Adjusting doesn't work unless you aim at the same point every time you shoot.

Although it may help, give adjusting the sights a try and shoot from a set distance every time.

Like elite said, clean your barrel thoroughly. remove it and visually inspec the hopup unit and barrel for any factory defects like a unsmooth barrel, ripped bucking, defective nubs, or anything else out of the ordinary. If all else fails, return it.

#12 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 August 2008 - 08:38 PM

I haven't tested on M4A1 but on the G36 hopup doesn't engage before 40-50 feet.  You'll need to shoot further to see hopup goes into effect.  

I'm not sure what to tell you with shooting below point of aim thou.  Maybe I didn't have a the same expectation like you do.

#13 Shmoogly3

Shmoogly3

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wisconsin
  • Interests:Outdoor inthusiest
    Airsofting
    Martial arts
    Cycling
    Hiking
  • Country:

Posted 25 August 2008 - 10:56 AM

Shoot at a target about 100ft away adjust your hop up dial back and forth if you don't notice any change in the bbs flight pattern than your hop up ub is probably not in your hop chamber. Did you take the barrel out of the hop up chamber yet. If you did you probably didn't install the bucking over the barrel right and or when you took the barrel out the hop up nub somehow fell out.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users