Jump to content


adding a TB/hop up to KWA M4


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Stealthmaster14

Stealthmaster14

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 423 posts
  • Location:here :D
  • Interests:airsoft DUH, guitar, Jesus, video games, sports...etc

Posted 21 July 2008 - 02:01 PM

I will be purchasing a KWA M4 RIS around Christmas time and I am wondering what length of barrel I should get.  I was thinking of getting a DBC barrel and a systema bucking since they are compatible with the M4.  From what I have read though, the KWA M4 has a 694mm barrel instead of the usual 663.  

http://www.airsoftgi...p;filter_id=117

Out of those barrels, which length should I get?  (keep in mind I don't want a barrel extension and I don't want to change the cylinder)

is there another brand of barrels that you recommend that will work for the M4.  (I want atleast a 6.03)

thanks

Edited by Stealthmaster14, 21 July 2008 - 03:20 PM.


#2 brooklyn468

brooklyn468

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 559 posts

Posted 21 July 2008 - 04:34 PM

The KWA KM-4 has a 394mm inner barrel, not 694mm. They said 4.07mm fits without a barrel extension, though.

#3 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 21 July 2008 - 05:18 PM

View PostStealthmaster14, on Jul 21 2008, 03:01 PM, said:

is there another brand of barrels that you recommend that will work for the M4.  (I want atleast a 6.03)
Go with prometheus precision barrels.
Heres the link
http://www.airsoftgi...roducts_id=1584
Its a bit costy ($57) but its got good reviews.

#4 Stealthmaster14

Stealthmaster14

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 423 posts
  • Location:here :D
  • Interests:airsoft DUH, guitar, Jesus, video games, sports...etc

Posted 21 July 2008 - 07:26 PM

whoops, that's what I meant.  I'm tired today lol

Do Prometheus barrels work with a Systema bucking without modification in the KWA M4?  Also, the barrel is about an inch shorter than the regular KWA M4 barrel so is it possible that bbs could hit the flash hider with the hop up on?

I can't find any 407s that are at least 6.03  


Why should I get .03 over .01?  (other than jamming)

Edited by Stealthmaster14, 21 July 2008 - 07:36 PM.


#5 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 July 2008 - 08:33 PM

1. Yes
2. No
3. Have you look at Guarder TB?
4. Just more tolerant with dirt.

#6 Stealthmaster14

Stealthmaster14

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 423 posts
  • Location:here :D
  • Interests:airsoft DUH, guitar, Jesus, video games, sports...etc

Posted 21 July 2008 - 08:56 PM

thanks and no I haven't looked at Guarder because ASGI does not carry them which is the place I will be ordering from.  

again, thanks a ton.

So my KWA will be equipped with the following list

KWA M4 RIS-

Gripod (grip bipod)
Prometheus TB
Systema bucking
9.6 2200mah battery with elite cells
Carrying handle rail
4x Golden Image scope
scope rings

Sound good?  (4x might be overkill, but that is why I will have the carrying handle rail so I can use the iron sights too)

Edited by Stealthmaster14, 21 July 2008 - 08:59 PM.


#7 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 July 2008 - 12:04 AM

very soon you'll find scope on airsoft gun is for look only... it's not very useful at playing.

#8 karMeister

karMeister

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a small hole under a rock =P
  • Interests:EAR=((1+APR/n)^n)-1
  • Country:

Posted 22 July 2008 - 06:37 AM

View Postallizard, on Jul 22 2008, 12:04 AM, said:

very soon you'll find scope on airsoft gun is for look only... it's not very useful at playing.


yeah.. for snipers its a diff story.

red dots are usefull tho. esp eotechs!  :lol:

#9 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 July 2008 - 08:52 AM

I almost at a point to conclude airsoft sniper doesn't exist.  A DMR yes.  No airsoft gun that I know off can shoot beyond 250 feet.  I know this is debatable but I really don't think it's a effective role when playing.

#10 karMeister

karMeister

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a small hole under a rock =P
  • Interests:EAR=((1+APR/n)^n)-1
  • Country:

Posted 22 July 2008 - 09:46 AM

View Postallizard, on Jul 22 2008, 08:52 AM, said:

I almost at a point to conclude airsoft sniper doesn't exist.  A DMR yes.  No airsoft gun that I know off can shoot beyond 250 feet.  I know this is debatable but I really don't think it's a effective role when playing.


Yes im going thru the same thing.. its just a matter of being able to outreach the other guy who has a shorter barrel/lesser fps. Thats basically why i gave up on my m14. Magnified scopes do help you spot the target from a distance but it doesnt realy do you any good when your bbs dont reach the guy. So eotechs for me on regular games/CQB and add a Flip to side mount and magnifier (from my real steel hehe) for gun shows ehehe  :lol:

I like to keep both eyes open so i stay away from magnified scopes like ACOGs.
Its a diff story in real steel tho so the hit the guy from a distance with your magnified rifle scope  doesnt apply in airsoft.

Edited by karMeister, 22 July 2008 - 09:50 AM.


#11 Stealthmaster14

Stealthmaster14

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 423 posts
  • Location:here :D
  • Interests:airsoft DUH, guitar, Jesus, video games, sports...etc

Posted 22 July 2008 - 09:50 AM

Actually, plenty of airsoft snipers reach 300+ feet. (about 250 accurately)  If they are totally upgraded, airsoft snipers are beastly.  

I just kind of want the scope because I can see farther and they do help some.  I'm thinking of getting an EOtech replica instead, but those are about 40 bucks more than a 20 dollar scope plus a 10 dollar scope mount.

#12 karMeister

karMeister

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a small hole under a rock =P
  • Interests:EAR=((1+APR/n)^n)-1
  • Country:

Posted 22 July 2008 - 10:09 PM

View PostStealthmaster14, on Jul 22 2008, 09:50 AM, said:

Actually, plenty of airsoft snipers reach 300+ feet. (about 250 accurately)  If they are totally upgraded, airsoft snipers are beastly.  

I just kind of want the scope because I can see farther and they do help some.  I'm thinking of getting an EOtech replica instead, but those are about 40 bucks more than a 20 dollar scope plus a 10 dollar scope mount.


A word about those cheap eotech replicas (50-80USD) DONT! The reticle will giive you a headache!  Go for the authentic UFC GnP or Hurricane. Yes they make copies of the replicas too so be carefull!

#13 Doctor Kajita

Doctor Kajita

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 23 July 2008 - 12:37 AM

Replica EOTechs are worthless.

Like Allizard said, I've found no practical use for red dots.  I bought two (one for each gun) and I've taken them off because they just get in the way.

#14 Doctor Kajita

Doctor Kajita

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 23 July 2008 - 12:39 AM

BTW, I have a Prometheus 407mm with a Systema bucking and I can't seem to get the hop-up unit to fit, even with lots of lube.  I didn't put too much effort into it, but I feel like I shouldn't have to put more effort than I already gave.  I might try a different bucking.

You can get the 407mm Prometheus from Evike.com

#15 Stealthmaster14

Stealthmaster14

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 423 posts
  • Location:here :D
  • Interests:airsoft DUH, guitar, Jesus, video games, sports...etc

Posted 23 July 2008 - 10:29 AM

View PostkarMeister, on Jul 22 2008, 11:09 PM, said:

A word about those cheap eotech replicas (50-80USD) DONT! The reticle will giive you a headache!  Go for the authentic UFC GnP or Hurricane. Yes they make copies of the replicas too so be carefull!

how much is the hurricane? If it is over 100, forget it lol  I'd rather buy another leapers R/G dot even though mine crapped out.  (if my friend's continues to work, I'll get another)

#16 Guest_Radix_*

Guest_Radix_*
  • Guests

Posted 23 July 2008 - 11:14 AM

View Postallizard, on Jul 22 2008, 09:52 AM, said:

I almost at a point to conclude airsoft sniper doesn't exist.  A DMR yes.  No airsoft gun that I know off can shoot beyond 250 feet.  I know this is debatable but I really don't think it's a effective role when playing.

At 250 feet away you can do the "MATRIX" thing and dodge most of the bbs. :P

#17 brooklyn468

brooklyn468

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 559 posts

Posted 23 July 2008 - 06:37 PM

View PostRadix, on Jul 23 2008, 02:14 PM, said:

At 250 feet away you can do the "MATRIX" thing and dodge most of the bbs. :P

Lol I love doing that with my friend's guns like their JGs or Double Eagles.

They try to do that mith the M4a1, but they end up getting shot  :lol:

Oh yeah and why snipe when their is full auto?
I learned the hard way, for 2 years I had to go with a bolt-action UTG m324.

I still ove that rifle though...

Edited by brooklyn468, 23 July 2008 - 06:38 PM.


#18 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 23 July 2008 - 08:33 PM

View PostStealthmaster14, on Jul 22 2008, 10:50 AM, said:

Actually, plenty of airsoft snipers reach 300+ feet. (about 250 accurately)  If they are totally upgraded, airsoft snipers are beastly.  

I just kind of want the scope because I can see farther and they do help some.  I'm thinking of getting an EOtech replica instead, but those are about 40 bucks more than a 20 dollar scope plus a 10 dollar scope mount.

I like to see one shoot 300 effectively.  Like Radix said... not only you can dodge BB's.  I can catch BB's with my hand.  

Seriously folks, airsoft sniper rifle is overrated... WAY overrated.   Not to mention it's been there done that for me.  I had a Maruzen Type 96 fully upgraded shooting 600 FPS.  I can't shoot 300 effectively.  Sure the BBs can reach 300' but there is no force of impact.  It's pretty useless I might say.  And on top of that... try pulling 600 fps spring.  It will give you a good work out.   :rolleyes:

#19 karMeister

karMeister

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a small hole under a rock =P
  • Interests:EAR=((1+APR/n)^n)-1
  • Country:

Posted 23 July 2008 - 10:17 PM

@DoctorKajita,

Yeah the cheap ones are worthless. The regular ones like GnP, UFC, and Hurricane  are great!  I have a real 553 and I can tell that these replicas are ok. They are not real holo sights that have small dots as light sources that from the reticle. The replica has only one ligth source.


@Stealthmaster14,

A real GnP and UFC will cost arounds 109.00 US while a Hurricane will cost 200.00USD (real eotechs will cost around 600)


@Radix
hehehe or catch it! pissing the other guy off  :lol:

@allizard
LoL!  I remember this time my teammate was catching this other guys bbs (while he was on his knees 150 ft away) then he stood up and reloaded his mag with the guys bbs! wahahaha!  :lol:

Yeah! tried that on a bar10 hehe

#20 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 23 July 2008 - 11:26 PM

600 for real Eotech is a bit too much.  I know on ebay is around $350-400 on the low end model.   Other options if you can still find it.  Is the Bushnell version that's exactly the same as EoTech but license under Bushnell for a short time.  Those goes around $200-250.

what bothers me about cheap Eotech replica is the Ghosting on the lens.  Like someone said earlier.  It can give you a headache.  Unfortunately my Hurricane also have ghosting effect on the lens.   Not as bad as other cheap clone thou...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users