Jump to content


Service Advisory - Loose Top Rail on Receiver


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 December 2009 - 03:35 PM

There has been a couple reports of loose Top Rails on the SR series and the new 2nd Gen receivers on standard KM4A1 and KM4 RIS.

After some investigation we have a quick and easy fix for the loose Top rails issue. Apply this fix ONLY if your top rails is loose.

Preparation
A punch size 1/16
A Hammer
A Shim or Spacer, size may vary (for our example we use .2 mm)

Step 1
Separate top receiver from the gun

Step 2
Remove hop-up and inner barrel out of the gun

Step 3
Rest the top receiver on it's side, locate the roll pin in the front and drive the pin out with punch and hammer.
Posted Image

Step 4
Remove the pin and keep in a safe place.
Posted Image

Step 5
Pull the charging handle back slightly and push the top rail backward.
Posted Image

Posted Image

Step 6
Once the top rail slide back you can lift the rail up from the front and remove from receiver.
Posted Image

Posted Image

Step 7
Place a shim to act as a spacer in the top front of receiver. You might need to try different size depend on the gap.
Posted Image

You can add a drop of glue to secure the spacer/shim. Optional!
Posted Image

Step 8
Place top rail back on receiver.
Posted Image

Step 9
Make sure the rail is lined up, flip the receiver to the opposite side.
Posted Image

Step 10
Place roll pin back in receiver and line up with top rail.
Posted Image

Step 11
Drive Roll pin back in receiver and the rail should be secure.
Posted Image

Posted Image

Depend on the size of the shim or spacer. It might be a little big and stick out in the front. You can file it down or use a smaller size.

Let us know if you have any further questions.

#2 karMeister

karMeister

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a small hole under a rock =P
  • Interests:EAR=((1+APR/n)^n)-1
  • Country:

Posted 10 December 2009 - 09:12 PM

I see its different from the previous gen that used a screw like the TM to secure the rail on the other end. I guess KWA figured out that it a bolt would be tougher than a screw and t would take full advantage of the metal receiver. Great fix Allizard!  :thumbsup:

#3 gcw360

gcw360

    Supreme Guru

  • Super Moderator
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 11,736 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Jersey
  • Interests:Airsoft (Especially repair and customizing), Fly Fishing, Fossils (Especially Dino), Snakes, Photography
  • Country:

Posted 13 February 2010 - 05:45 PM

View Postallizard, on 10 December 2009 - 03:35 PM, said:

There has been a couple reports of loose Top Rails on the SR series and the new 2nd Gen receivers on standard KM4A1 and KM4 RIS.

After some investigation we have a quick and easy fix for the loose Top rails issue. Apply this fix ONLY if your top rails is loose.

Preparation
A punch size 1/16
A Hammer
A Shim or Spacer, size may vary (for our example we use .2 mm)

Step 1
Separate top receiver from the gun

Step 2
Remove hop-up and inner barrel out of the gun

Step 3
Rest the top receiver on it's side, locate the roll pin in the front and drive the pin out with punch and hammer.
Posted Image

Step 4
Remove the pin and keep in a safe place.
Posted Image

Step 5
Pull the charging handle back slightly and push the top rail backward.
Posted Image

Posted Image

Step 6
Once the top rail slide back you can lift the rail up from the front and remove from receiver.
Posted Image

Posted Image

Step 7
Place a shim to act as a spacer in the top front of receiver. You might need to try different size depend on the gap.
Posted Image

You can add a drop of glue to secure the spacer/shim. Optional!
Posted Image

Step 8
Place top rail back on receiver.
Posted Image

Step 9
Make sure the rail is lined up, flip the receiver to the opposite side.
Posted Image

Step 10
Place roll pin back in receiver and line up with top rail.
Posted Image

Step 11
Drive Roll pin back in receiver and the rail should be secure.
Posted Image

Posted Image

Depend on the size of the shim or spacer. It might be a little big and stick out in the front. You can file it down or use a smaller size.

Let us know if you have any further questions.
FYI, I just did this mod to my SR5. I used a piece of flat brass stock 1/64th thick. I placed it slightly further back than Spiggy shows in this post and so that it would not protrude. It's actually seated on the "U" shaped piece just behind the receiver shell. I am happy to report it worked like a charm. The shim was cut square about 3/16" x 1/4" and super glued for placement. Easy fix.:gun:

#4 SkaR

SkaR

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 27 February 2010 - 04:28 PM

or you could just make the rail on the upper receiver one piece... like classic army....problem solved! no loose rail ever again! tsk tsk KWA.

#5 Trell

Trell

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Kansas

Posted 27 February 2010 - 07:44 PM

If I get a gun, in say... a month. Will this problem still be around or be corrected with the latest batches.

-Trell

#6 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 March 2010 - 11:24 AM

The rail isn't loose on the existing products.

#7 SkaR

SkaR

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 02 March 2010 - 04:44 PM

Mine wasn't loose before, but got knocked loose when my scope got hit... not even that hard but whatever.... do you ABSOLUTELY have to remove the upper receiver to do this?

#8 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 03 March 2010 - 09:20 AM

Yes.  Otherwise you risk damaging other parts of the gun.

#9 isawul00k

isawul00k

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 May 2010 - 01:18 PM

i have about 50,ooo rounds throught my gun KM4-RIS G2. the rail became loose around 30k..then just this past weekend the pin feel out.. good thing i had zipties. this part is not avalible and i cant seem to find this oddball sized pin. i called the proshop and i havent recieved a call back. how hard is it to look up a dang part number. so my gun is going to have to sit the next few games out...come one KWA get some part out for the G2 KM4. i just want to buy them and apparently you guys dont have them..Love the gun but hate all the BS..

Why dont my local shops have any of your replacement parts..they say you guys are not making them avalible..  should i go get another CA(Crapy AEG)?

#10 isawul00k

isawul00k

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 May 2010 - 01:22 PM

View Postallizard, on 01 March 2010 - 11:24 AM, said:

The rail isn't loose on the existing products.


what about current products ?

#11 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 11 May 2010 - 08:27 AM

Questions for you.

1. When did you call? What time?
2. Which part it fell out?  You got a picture where the missing part suppose to be?  Part #?
3. Isn't "Existing Products" and "Current Products" mean the same thing?

#12 isawul00k

isawul00k

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 May 2010 - 08:02 PM

View Postallizard, on 11 May 2010 - 08:27 AM, said:

Questions for you.

1. When did you call? What time?
2. Which part it fell out?  You got a picture where the missing part suppose to be?  Part #?
3. Isn't "Existing Products" and "Current Products" mean the same thing?


1.about 10:00am cali time monday morning 5/10
2.part #127
3.not really.. i was thinking they sent me a older model possibly..i purchesed in Feb of 2010

i also asked for part #'s  3, 205,127 and a part which isnt listed-->my selector switch came loose and when i tried to pop the plug(selector dummy plug) out of the oppisite side to access the screw it broke i can make it work but was going to get a new one since i was going to make an order. i still havent heard anything back. please update the parts listing for the SR and KM4 series it is a pain to have to do all this reserch just to order a part. i had to mix and match. and some parts dont even exist..i would like to play sunday and i have the feeling i will not be going. please resolve this asap so i can get M4 running.. thanks

#13 xKingSizex

xKingSizex

    Customer Service Manager

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,826 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Beach, CA
  • Interests:Umm, airsoft...
  • Country:

Posted 12 May 2010 - 06:06 PM

Who did you speak with on Monday? I was out of the office but I'll check on the parts for you tomorrow when I get back in.

#14 xKingSizex

xKingSizex

    Customer Service Manager

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,826 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Beach, CA
  • Interests:Umm, airsoft...
  • Country:

Posted 13 May 2010 - 10:23 AM

We do have parts 127 and 205 in stock, I'll try to see if our tech center has part #3. You can call our sales department at 626-581-1777 to order the parts.

#15 whiterabbit05

whiterabbit05

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 312 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 September 2010 - 09:53 AM

Just had to do this with my SR5, works like a charm, thanks for the heads up.

#16 colt1911

colt1911

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 29 October 2010 - 01:16 PM

I noticed this problem on my M16 BR I got in august this year. I will try this out. I can imagine the possibility of making a carry handle that replaces the rail, to make it look like an M16A2 since it was so easy to take the rail off. Would be a lot better than buying a whole G&P upper receiver for my ranger loadout.

#17 phiz

phiz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 10 January 2011 - 01:15 PM

Just got a brand new KM4 from airsoftGI and it has this problem. I'll try this fix...

#18 royalina

royalina

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Country:

Posted 23 January 2011 - 09:32 PM

I guess KWA figured out that it a bolt would be tougher than a screw and t would take full advantage of the metal receiver. Great fix Allizard! :thumbsup: .............










cartier love ring replicacartier tank watchcartier jewelry online

#19 DavidNguyen

DavidNguyen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 26 January 2011 - 07:39 PM

View Postphiz, on 10 January 2011 - 01:15 PM, said:

Just got a brand new KM4 from airsoftGI and it has this problem. I'll try this fix...
Same here. My dust cover and ejection port cover broke too. :(

#20 808Kameleon

808Kameleon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Country:

Posted 31 May 2011 - 01:12 AM

SWEET!  I do not have to take the whole frame apart!   :thumbsup:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users