Jump to content


Gearbox Problems


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 xXxGruntxXx

xXxGruntxXx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Posted 10 July 2008 - 03:29 PM

So I was dropping in my Type 0 Cylinder today... Being a noob and this is my first project, I was a little worried and it took me a few hours to open it, swap the cylinder, and close it back up. When I finally got the gun all together, I put it on semi to test and nothing happened. I put my ear close to the motor and pressed it one last time, and I heard a very quiet click, like something was preventing the motor from spinning. So I opened it, checked to see if wires were catching on the motor, and tried again. Same. So I ripped it all apart again, and checked the gearbox to make sure everything was all in place. Now that I am trying to close the gear box, it seems like there is a large space around the trigger and below the gears. If I put decent pressure on it, I can seal it, but then the top pops open, and if I let off the pressure, the bottom pops back open. I was having problems with my tappet plate, so maybe thats installed incorrectly.

Sorry I can't get pictures right now because of my camera, but I will have some in a few hours.

EDIT: Solved that gearbox problem. It was the tappet plate. It was on top the brass looking circle that is supposed to pull the tappet plate back. I still might have the problem with the motor not spinning, but we will see.

EDIT 2: Ok, I got the gearbox inside the lower receiver. One problem I forgot to mention before was that the Selector switch was hard to adjust. Now, it's completely normal :). I'll finish assembling the gun and post another update soon.

Edited by xXxGruntxXx, 10 July 2008 - 04:04 PM.


#2 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 10 July 2008 - 06:06 PM

View PostxXxGruntxXx, on Jul 10 2008, 03:29 PM, said:

EDIT: Solved that gearbox problem. It was the tappet plate. It was on top the brass looking circle that is supposed to pull the tappet plate back. I still might have the problem with the motor not spinning, but we will see.

EDIT 2: Ok, I got the gearbox inside the lower receiver. One problem I forgot to mention before was that the Selector switch was hard to adjust. Now, it's completely normal :). I'll finish assembling the gun and post another update soon.
So Problem solved??? Just a stupid rookie mistake :S We were all there once :lol: So is there anything else wrong or are you just going to post a update?

EDIT: Allizard was never at the rookie stage... he went from "beginner" to "pro" :lol:

Edited by vic_man4, 10 July 2008 - 06:07 PM.


#3 xXxGruntxXx

xXxGruntxXx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Posted 10 July 2008 - 06:08 PM

I'm not exactly sure if there's anything wrong, but I reassembled my gun and YES it shoot :). It sounds a tad bit louder... more like a metal on metal sound.. is that normal for a new barrel and a type 0 cylinder? Also, while installing a new barrel, I somehow managed to lose the nub. I replaced it with one from my old UTG M324 Sniper, but I don't think it will do the trick... is there a way to either make one or buy a new one for cheap? Thanks!

#4 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 10 July 2008 - 06:11 PM

View PostxXxGruntxXx, on Jul 10 2008, 06:08 PM, said:

I'm not exactly sure if there's anything wrong, but I reassembled my gun and YES it shoot :). It sounds a tad bit louder... more like a metal on metal sound.. is that normal for a new barrel and a type 0 cylinder? Also, while installing a new barrel, I somehow managed to lose the nub. I replaced it with one from my old UTG M324 Sniper, but I don't think it will do the trick... is there a way to either make one or buy a new one for cheap? Thanks!
Just cut a small peice of rubber the same size instead of wasting $6 and then a bunch for shipping on some small peice of rubber that you can make :lol: thats what I have heard some people use, but it might or might not work, but apparently "it's been done"

#5 xXxGruntxXx

xXxGruntxXx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Posted 10 July 2008 - 06:29 PM

Ah crap. The hop up nub must be too small. I can see BBs rolling out my barrel and such. I thought it might work if I turn up the hopup, when I went to pull the charging handle back, it popped open the dust cover, but the bolt stayed forward >_<. Gotta take it down and see the problem :P. What exactly is a hopup nub supposed to look like? The one I'm currently using is a small rubber cylinder. Maybe if I just wrap it in something to give it a larger diameter?

EDIT: This is WEIRD. I unscrewed the take-down pin and pushed it out. I grabbed the carry hand with one hand and the stock with the other and pryed. The M4 popped open slightly, but I couldn't manage to get it open. I pushed it extremely hard and nothing. So I don't know what made me do it, but I pull the charging handle... and it worked. So I put the gun back together, set the hopup midway, fired, bbs ran out. Set it on full hop, fired, bbs ran out. I still cannot get the gun open... (which I need to do to fix the hopup nub). Any suggestions?

Edited by xXxGruntxXx, 10 July 2008 - 06:42 PM.


#6 karMeister

karMeister

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a small hole under a rock =P
  • Interests:EAR=((1+APR/n)^n)-1
  • Country:

Posted 10 July 2008 - 11:31 PM

View PostxXxGruntxXx, on Jul 10 2008, 06:29 PM, said:

Ah crap. The hop up nub must be too small. I can see BBs rolling out my barrel and such. I thought it might work if I turn up the hopup, when I went to pull the charging handle back, it popped open the dust cover, but the bolt stayed forward >_<. Gotta take it down and see the problem :P. What exactly is a hopup nub supposed to look like? The one I'm currently using is a small rubber cylinder. Maybe if I just wrap it in something to give it a larger diameter?

EDIT: This is WEIRD. I unscrewed the take-down pin and pushed it out. I grabbed the carry hand with one hand and the stock with the other and pryed. The M4 popped open slightly, but I couldn't manage to get it open. I pushed it extremely hard and nothing. So I don't know what made me do it, but I pull the charging handle... and it worked. So I put the gun back together, set the hopup midway, fired, bbs ran out. Set it on full hop, fired, bbs ran out. I still cannot get the gun open... (which I need to do to fix the hopup nub). Any suggestions?

Quote

This is WEIRD. I unscrewed the take-down pin and pushed it out. I grabbed the carry hand with one hand and the stock with the other and pryed. The M4 popped open slightly, but I couldn't manage to get it open

you have to shoot your gun in semi first so the piston body rests inside the cylinder and not outside it where the gearbox shows it and it gets in the way of the upper reciever when you try to open it.



Jut make sure the hop rubber and the barrel is installed correctly inside the hop chamber. if i is and still have some problems well there could obviously be something else wrong. another option is to try another hop rubber (hop rubbers also wear)

Edited by karMeister, 10 July 2008 - 11:34 PM.


#7 xXxGruntxXx

xXxGruntxXx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Posted 11 July 2008 - 01:50 PM

Ok, thanks KarMeister. I got my gun open and checked the hopup. It appears to be fine. I took out my UTG nub and wrapped it in a layer of electrical tape to increase its diameter. I tested it in my gun and I got the hopup set and the gun is shooting amazingly accurate, but it's still misfeeding. Like the first shot may work, then the second wont fire, then the third will fire 2 bbs, etc. I really don't know the problem. I turned my hopup on max and the bbs soared straight up into the air, but still misfeed. Any help please? Thanks.

#8 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 11 July 2008 - 06:59 PM

View PostxXxGruntxXx, on Jul 11 2008, 02:50 PM, said:

Ok, thanks KarMeister. I got my gun open and checked the hopup. It appears to be fine. I took out my UTG nub and wrapped it in a layer of electrical tape to increase its diameter. I tested it in my gun and I got the hopup set and the gun is shooting amazingly accurate, but it's still misfeeding. Like the first shot may work, then the second wont fire, then the third will fire 2 bbs, etc. I really don't know the problem. I turned my hopup on max and the bbs soared straight up into the air, but still misfeed. Any help please? Thanks.

lube your mag, is it a high cap or mid/real?

#9 karMeister

karMeister

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a small hole under a rock =P
  • Interests:EAR=((1+APR/n)^n)-1
  • Country:

Posted 12 July 2008 - 01:57 AM

View PostxXxGruntxXx, on Jul 11 2008, 01:50 PM, said:

Ok, thanks KarMeister. I got my gun open and checked the hopup. It appears to be fine. I took out my UTG nub and wrapped it in a layer of electrical tape to increase its diameter. I tested it in my gun and I got the hopup set and the gun is shooting amazingly accurate, but it's still misfeeding. Like the first shot may work, then the second wont fire, then the third will fire 2 bbs, etc. I really don't know the problem. I turned my hopup on max and the bbs soared straight up into the air, but still misfeed. Any help please? Thanks.


have you tried a new hop rubber? the opening of the rubber expands and cause misfeeds and double fires

#10 xXxGruntxXx

xXxGruntxXx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Posted 12 July 2008 - 10:10 AM

I tried my Systema one, but its too loose on the barrel and is very hard to feed into the hopup chamber, so I couldn't even fire with it yet.

I tried my new MAG midcaps, they don't feed at all for some reason, but my KWA hicap feeds a BB everytime. One curious thing I've noticed, though, is that if I flip the gun upside down, remove the mag and leave the bbs in the feeder and fire upside down, it fires flawlessly. Haven't tried that in full auto, but in semi, it won't misfeed and such.

EDIT: Oh and what about that little ring that goes on the hopup? The stock one wont fit on my JBU tight bore, it's too tight of a fit, so I used my Systema ring with the stock hopup bucking. I am not sure where the ring goes, but i just slid it on the barrel so it's in front of my hopup bucking, but not touching it so the plastic barrel securing thing (on the hopup housing) can fit properly. Could that be my problem?

Edited by xXxGruntxXx, 12 July 2008 - 10:14 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users