Jump to content


KWA G36C accuracy issues


  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_maxxlimited_*

Guest_maxxlimited_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 July 2009 - 11:54 AM

I just upgraded my G36c with a bigger battery and rewired it with deans plug throughout. I got the ROF to about 21.5 rps, but when I go full auto, the accuracy becomes crap. Some of the bbs go straight as intended, but some of them fall short, like hopup is not on at all. I didn't get this problem with my old battery, shooting at around 18 rps. I checked the hopup unit, it seems to be working fine. Also, I shaved down the second teeth on the piston to avoid premature engagement, but that didn't solve the problem either. Any ideas? thanks.

BTW, everything is stock on the gun except for deans.

#2 Jonas888

Jonas888

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 433 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway
  • Interests:Airsoft, fitness, custom AEG's
  • Country:

Posted 26 July 2009 - 12:49 PM

View Postmaxxlimited, on 26 July 2009 - 11:54 AM, said:

I just upgraded my G36c with a bigger battery and rewired it with deans plug throughout. I got the ROF to about 21.5 rps, but when I go full auto, the accuracy becomes crap. Some of the bbs go straight as intended, but some of them fall short, like hopup is not on at all. I didn't get this problem with my old battery, shooting at around 18 rps. I checked the hopup unit, it seems to be working fine. Also, I shaved down the second teeth on the piston to avoid premature engagement, but that didn't solve the problem either. Any ideas? thanks.

BTW, everything is stock on the gun except for deans.

I am a major gun`tech noob, but I'd gues that the BB's are hitting eachothers as they comes that fast out of the barrel that they bounce eachother and drop. Again, I have extremly little experience with airsoft guns so far.

Edited by Jonas888, 27 July 2009 - 06:29 AM.


#3 Guest_maxxlimited_*

Guest_maxxlimited_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 July 2009 - 04:40 PM

Well, 21 rps isn't really all that fast. There are people at my field that stick a lipoly on their stock clone guns shooting at probably 23+ rps without this problem. It's just hard to imagine a KWA gun has this problem while clone guns don't.

#4 Wintersx866

Wintersx866

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 428 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States

Posted 27 July 2009 - 07:45 AM

View Postmaxxlimited, on 26 July 2009 - 04:40 PM, said:

Well, 21 rps isn't really all that fast. There are people at my field that stick a lipoly on their stock clone guns shooting at probably 23+ rps without this problem. It's just hard to imagine a KWA gun has this problem while clone guns don't.
Have you tried spraying some silicon oil into your hopup chamber yet?  If you haven't try that and the first 150 to 200 shots are going to off by a bit but after the silicon oil has done its job, your gun should be shooting find.  Just to be safe, shoot out maybe 3/4 of a whole mag.

#5 Guest_maxxlimited_*

Guest_maxxlimited_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 July 2009 - 11:24 AM

Yep, I tried that already after I took apart the hopup unit, still doesn't work. It seems like I might need to go with my old battery.

#6 Spiggy

Spiggy

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,136 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:City of Industry
  • Country:

Posted 27 July 2009 - 03:50 PM

Is the Barrel&Hopup unit assembly bouncing freely in the outer barrel assembly?

#7 Guest_maxxlimited_*

Guest_maxxlimited_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 July 2009 - 06:49 PM

umm bouncing freely? Not sure exactly what you mean by that. How would you tell if it is?

#8 Spiggy

Spiggy

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,136 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:City of Industry
  • Country:

Posted 28 July 2009 - 04:27 PM

Take the magwell out of the gun and poke the hopup unit with your finger. See if it will retract into the outer barrel assembly and bounce back towards the gearbox.

Also, what type of lubricant did you use on your cylinder assembly?

#9 Guest_maxxlimited_*

Guest_maxxlimited_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 July 2009 - 06:53 PM

I use teflon grease.

The hopup unit does retract and bounce back. But it's not very smooth. Sometimes it gets stuck when I push it all the way in, I just needed to push in and up a bit to get it to pop back out.

#10 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 July 2009 - 08:31 AM

That's not good.  Hop-up unit should be pushing back to the front of gearbox.  If you have a gap then you'll have a feeding issue.

#11 Guest_MetallicaFatCat_*

Guest_MetallicaFatCat_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 July 2009 - 05:10 PM

I believe that your are occuring some fps issues dealing with compression. Just send it it to KWA and they should be able to repair what ever got damaged.

#12 Guest_maxxlimited_*

Guest_maxxlimited_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 July 2009 - 05:27 PM

View Postallizard, on 29 July 2009 - 08:31 AM, said:

That's not good.  Hop-up unit should be pushing back to the front of gearbox.  If you have a gap then you'll have a feeding issue.

Well it does push back against the air nozzle. It only gets stuck when I push it all the way it, but I only need to wiggle it a little to get it unstuck. I thought about lubing it, but I'm not sure where to put the lube.

Quote

I believe that your are occuring some fps issues dealing with compression. Just send it it to KWA and they should be able to repair what ever got damaged.

I'm pretty sure my warranty expired already. And I've opened the gearbox more than 5 times already, so warranty is voided anyways.

I think it might be a compression issue to do the increased rate of fire. But 21.5 rps isn't fast at all, so the piston shouldn't be engaged prematurely, plus I shaved down the second tooth already.

#13 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 July 2009 - 10:14 PM

We do offer Out of warranty service.  I'm sure we can put it back in good shape.

#14 Guest_maxxlimited_*

Guest_maxxlimited_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 July 2009 - 10:32 PM

I'll try to fix it first before I spend the extra money to get it repaired by you guys. How much do you guys charge for out of warranty services?
BTW, I work in City of Industry too, probably like 5 minutes away from the kwa office.

#15 Spiggy

Spiggy

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,136 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:City of Industry
  • Country:

Posted 30 July 2009 - 08:05 AM

$35 + major parts.  You'll need to arrange a will call RMA before you pay a visit so the technical people(like me) don't get confused when a gun shows up without paperwork  :D

#16 isxlow

isxlow

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 November 2009 - 11:33 AM

I prob should have looked here before I sent info to KWA Techs. I also have issues with ROF and BB's severally dropping off after 25-35 ft. We tested the 11.1 in three separate KWA G36C's and the same thing happened with each one. If you fire a 3 round burst the issue was not there, the same thing if you fire on semi-auto. Once we set it to full auto the BB's start dropping off after the first 3 are out of the barrel. We have be able to repeat the same issue with .20 .23 & .25 gram BBs (AI Extreme Elite) It seems more like a compression issue where the cylinder recoil is sucking the shot BB's back into the barrel.

We also tried the same 11.1 Li-Po in a new KWA M4 RIS and it performed FLAWLESSLY. Every shot had the same range and accuracy as the round before it. I am wondering what the difference between the mech housings are (G36 & M4)

I have been suggested to get a "zero cylinder" installed. I am not 100% sure what that means because I am no expert on the inter-workings of my KWA. I just asked for the best gun on the market and the KWA is it. Now I just want it to shoot on par with the other KWA Makes.

Thanks,

isxlow

Edited by isxlow, 20 November 2009 - 11:36 AM.


#17 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 November 2009 - 02:52 PM

suck back affect is myth and it doesn't exist in normal AEG.  

your issue maybe the hop-up dial is loose and vibration cause the hop-up to back off as you fire.

#18 PhaseBlue

PhaseBlue

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 29 May 2010 - 09:47 AM

Sorry to bring up an old thread but I am having the exact same problem.... I got a 4000mah LiPoly for my 2nd gen KWA G36c and it fires the first 3 shots normal, but then sporadically after that I get BB's falling short of normal range. I'd really like to take advantage of this new battery using my KWA G36c.

The issue does not occur using my other batteries including a 10.8v 2000mah.

maxxlimited, did you ever resolve this issue?


Thanks

#19 gcw360

gcw360

    Supreme Guru

  • Super Moderator
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 11,717 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Jersey
  • Interests:Airsoft (Especially repair and customizing), Fly Fishing, Fossils (Especially Dino), Snakes, Photography
  • Country:

Posted 29 May 2010 - 10:07 AM

View PostPhaseBlue, on 29 May 2010 - 09:47 AM, said:

Sorry to bring up an old thread but I am having the exact same problem.... I got a 4000mah LiPoly for my 2nd gen KWA G36c and it fires the first 3 shots normal, but then sporadically after that I get BB's falling short of normal range. I'd really like to take advantage of this new battery using my KWA G36c.

The issue does not occur using my other batteries including a 10.8v 2000mah.

maxxlimited, did you ever resolve this issue?


Thanks
It could be that the gun is cycling to fast for the piston to return to get a full stoke. If it is fine on semi but drops FPS on full auto then this is most likely the case.

:gun:

#20 PhaseBlue

PhaseBlue

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 01 June 2010 - 03:37 PM

Thanks for the input. It does seem like that's happening, since single fire works fine, 3 shot birst (1 trigger pull) works fine, but as soon as the gun spins up to full speed (full auto) I get inconsistent shot strength resulting in some bb's falling short.

Also I was wondering if it's possible this could just be a feed issue. Any suggestions out there on troubleshooting I could perform to rule out a feed issue?

Thanks,
Phase

View Postgcw360, on 29 May 2010 - 10:07 AM, said:

It could be that the gun is cycling to fast for the piston to return to get a full stoke. If it is fine on semi but drops FPS on full auto then this is most likely the case.

:gun:

Edited by PhaseBlue, 01 June 2010 - 03:38 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users