Jump to content


CQR shooting over 350 fps


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 fishkicks

fishkicks

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Country:

Posted 25 August 2014 - 02:46 PM

So I've had my CQR Mod 2 for about 3 months now.  It's a great rifle.  The only problem is it is shooting over 350 fps, negating the reason I got it.

The store I got it from test fired it before I got it and it was shooting at 346 fps with .20 bb's. I shoot around here and there with the intention of breaking it in.  I go to my first game with it and it is shooting at about 375 fps.  I was confused but then thought maybe I didn't break it in enough.  Ok so no problem, after that game it should have been plenty broken in.  I then go to my next game thinking I'll be good.  Nope, around 375 again.

So what's going on here?  Is it just something that happens sometimes to some rifles?

Thanks for any help offered.

#2 StealthTaskForce

StealthTaskForce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa
  • Interests:Airsoft, Paintball, Sports, My girlfriend, Knives and Real Steel
  • Country:

Posted 25 August 2014 - 05:17 PM

You could leave the spring compressed for a little bit to help lower the tension and there by lowering the fps. You could also use heavier BBs and it will drop your fps as well.

#3 fishkicks

fishkicks

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Country:

Posted 25 August 2014 - 05:34 PM

Thanks for the reply.  I might try the spring thing.  

Using heavier bb's won't work because the field I go to chronos with .2s.  If it wasn't for the cutoff of 350 fps I wouldn't mind because it performs excellently otherwise.

#4 StealthTaskForce

StealthTaskForce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa
  • Interests:Airsoft, Paintball, Sports, My girlfriend, Knives and Real Steel
  • Country:

Posted 25 August 2014 - 05:55 PM

About how many rounds have you put through it so far? I think the break in period is 1,000 rounds, so after that it should be shooting more consistently at the lower fps.

#5 BLATEY

BLATEY

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 204 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iowa City, Iowa
  • Interests:Keepin' it Real.
  • Country:

Posted 25 August 2014 - 06:01 PM

Break in time I believe is anywhere from 1000-5000 rounds. Leave it compressed for a week or two.

#6 StealthTaskForce

StealthTaskForce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa
  • Interests:Airsoft, Paintball, Sports, My girlfriend, Knives and Real Steel
  • Country:

Posted 25 August 2014 - 06:28 PM

There ya go. Haha break in period could last a while, so your fps may not settle down until after then.

#7 fishkicks

fishkicks

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Country:

Posted 25 August 2014 - 09:31 PM

That makes sense.  I have put about 3000 rounds through it, I guess it's possible it hasn't been fully broken in yet.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users