Jump to content


Front Post Sight Removal on Mod 2


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 StealthTaskForce

StealthTaskForce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa
  • Interests:Airsoft, Paintball, Sports, My girlfriend, Knives and Real Steel
  • Country:

Posted 30 July 2014 - 12:45 PM

I want to start planning to get the stuff I need for my RIS extension and inner barrel extension, but I first need to know what all I need for it. I found a couple videos on youtube explaining how to get the front sight off, it's just a couple pins. What I DON'T know, is if I'll need something else to keep the new rails on there. I want to put on this rail, http://www.airsoftgi...roducts_id=5474 but I don't know what all I'll need for it to work. I was also going to put my battery in this RIS length wise so I know it'll fit cuz I did the measuring, but I don't want it to fall out since it doesn't look like there's anything on the end rails. And yes I realize this is "fluff" but I don't need anyone to remind me of that. I'm trying to make a DMR build that gives me lots of options down the road, and if there are any 12" rails that are cheaper that you know of, please share.

#2 StealthTaskForce

StealthTaskForce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa
  • Interests:Airsoft, Paintball, Sports, My girlfriend, Knives and Real Steel
  • Country:

Posted 01 August 2014 - 09:13 AM

Oh come on guys. I know there's bound to be at least one of you guy out there that can help out with this.

#3 Pyro_Buster

Pyro_Buster

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Country:

Posted 01 August 2014 - 09:49 AM

It looks like it's not a free float, in which case yes. You'd need something to hold the other end. Also, what gun are you planning on putting this on?

Whoops. Didn't see the title. My bad! You know how you have that catch on the side of the front sight post closest to the receiver? You need that. And a gas block.

Edited by Pyro_Buster, 01 August 2014 - 09:54 AM.


#4 StealthTaskForce

StealthTaskForce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa
  • Interests:Airsoft, Paintball, Sports, My girlfriend, Knives and Real Steel
  • Country:

Posted 01 August 2014 - 10:50 AM

Alright so then if I got this gas block: http://www.airsoftgi...roducts_id=4820 would that be all I need to make this whole set up work?

#5 Pyro_Buster

Pyro_Buster

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Country:

Posted 01 August 2014 - 12:44 PM

I'm not exactly sure. I don't own a CQR so that's about as far as I can help you. Sorry bud!

#6 BLATEY

BLATEY

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 202 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iowa City, Iowa
  • Interests:Keepin' it Real.
  • Country:

Posted 01 August 2014 - 01:09 PM

Yes, I believe so if you're using part #284 with the gas tube and block.

#7 StealthTaskForce

StealthTaskForce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa
  • Interests:Airsoft, Paintball, Sports, My girlfriend, Knives and Real Steel
  • Country:

Posted 01 August 2014 - 01:20 PM

View PostPyro_Buster, on 01 August 2014 - 12:44 PM, said:

I'm not exactly sure. I don't own a CQR so that's about as far as I can help you. Sorry bud!

I would imagine it would be the same as whatever you have. For front end at least.

#8 BLATEY

BLATEY

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 202 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iowa City, Iowa
  • Interests:Keepin' it Real.
  • Country:

Posted 01 August 2014 - 02:32 PM

Yes, it is.

#9 StealthTaskForce

StealthTaskForce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa
  • Interests:Airsoft, Paintball, Sports, My girlfriend, Knives and Real Steel
  • Country:

Posted 01 August 2014 - 03:04 PM

Alright so you said that gas block that I linked will work?

#10 BLATEY

BLATEY

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 202 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iowa City, Iowa
  • Interests:Keepin' it Real.
  • Country:

Posted 01 August 2014 - 03:05 PM

It should, but I'm not %100.

#11 StealthTaskForce

StealthTaskForce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa
  • Interests:Airsoft, Paintball, Sports, My girlfriend, Knives and Real Steel
  • Country:

Posted 01 August 2014 - 03:08 PM

Alright thanks Blatey. I'll look for some youtube reviews on them and check it out. I would also prefer a cheaper gas block if I could lol

#12 Pyro_Buster

Pyro_Buster

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Country:

Posted 01 August 2014 - 03:09 PM

It's not the same as both my SR10 and SR7 use free float systems.

#13 StealthTaskForce

StealthTaskForce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa
  • Interests:Airsoft, Paintball, Sports, My girlfriend, Knives and Real Steel
  • Country:

Posted 01 August 2014 - 03:18 PM

Oh okay. My bad then Pyro! :whistle:

#14 tales

tales

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brooklyn NY
  • Interests:Fishing, RC cars, Building Motion Picture sets
  • Country:

Posted 02 August 2014 - 06:22 PM

View PostStealthTaskForce, on 30 July 2014 - 12:45 PM, said:

I want to start planning to get the stuff I need for my RIS extension and inner barrel extension, but I first need to know what all I need for it. I found a couple videos on youtube explaining how to get the front sight off, it's just a couple pins. What I DON'T know, is if I'll need something else to keep the new rails on there. I want to put on this rail, http://www.airsoftgi...roducts_id=5474 but I don't know what all I'll need for it to work. I was also going to put my battery in this RIS length wise so I know it'll fit cuz I did the measuring, but I don't want it to fall out since it doesn't look like there's anything on the end rails. And yes I realize this is "fluff" but I don't need anyone to remind me of that. I'm trying to make a DMR build that gives me lots of options down the road, and if there are any 12" rails that are cheaper that you know of, please share.

You'll need the hand guard end cap & delta ring, both came with your gun. The end cap will have to be moved forward about 3"
The rail you linked fits around the end cap & is secured with hex bolts, unlike the handrail that came with your mod that slides under the end cap so you can change the battery by pulling back the delta ring.

You can't do this with the rail you posted. It will need to be dissembled to remove the battery, if it fits?. The rail wasn't intended to house a battery. You checked the width, the battery has three dimensions: height & depth are going to be the issue.

Im guessing if you use that rail you will need to rewire the gun to the rear. Good time to upgrade to the metal lower receiver.
You can use your delta ring & hand guard end cap, its a tight fit over the EC, you will also need a gas block or front sight to hold the end cap in place.

If you want the free float system, the delta ring has to be replaced with a barrel nut as discussed here.
http://www.kwausa.co...topic=12475&hl=

#15 gcw360

gcw360

    Supreme Guru

  • Super Moderator
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 11,606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Jersey
  • Interests:Airsoft (Especially repair and customizing), Fly Fishing, Fossils (Especially Dino), Snakes, Photography
  • Country:

Posted 02 August 2014 - 07:13 PM

Additionally, you could consider a PEQ box if you want to keep front wiring.  Thing is, the outer barrel on you gun is designed for a 7" rail not a 12" one.  If you proceed with the rail you want be aware that any gas block you use will need to be a clamp style and i am not entirely certain it will work given the profile of the MOD 1 outer barrel.  So measure the barrel first to determine where the gas block will need to go so there won't be any disappointing surprises.

#16 StealthTaskForce

StealthTaskForce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa
  • Interests:Airsoft, Paintball, Sports, My girlfriend, Knives and Real Steel
  • Country:

Posted 02 August 2014 - 09:00 PM

I do already have a PEQ box, as the friend I got it from put on an AIM RIS, so I'm good to go there. As for the gas block, where would I have to put it? There aren't dimensions for it, so I don't know where it would have to go on the barrel other than trial and error.

#17 tales

tales

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brooklyn NY
  • Interests:Fishing, RC cars, Building Motion Picture sets
  • Country:

Posted 02 August 2014 - 10:37 PM

The gas block on my M4 RIS is 15/16" long. Even with that small gas block I won't be able to install the rail you posted on the m4 ris and that looks like the same lenght outer barrel as the mod1

If you install a longer outer barrel and move the hand guard end cap forward 4" the gas block will hit the birdcage
You are installing a longer outer barrel?

If it was the mod1 I think the only way you can install a 12" rail is a free float system.
This could be a costly upgrade

#18 StealthTaskForce

StealthTaskForce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa
  • Interests:Airsoft, Paintball, Sports, My girlfriend, Knives and Real Steel
  • Country:

Posted 03 August 2014 - 05:50 AM

I didn't plan to lengthen the outer barrel if I didn't have to. With that rail am I going to need to?

#19 tales

tales

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brooklyn NY
  • Interests:Fishing, RC cars, Building Motion Picture sets
  • Country:

Posted 03 August 2014 - 07:36 AM

M4 RIS 7" rail. Outer barrel looks to be close in size to the MOD1. The light grey parts end cap & gas block (6-1/2"- 7-3/4") are needed to hold the rail you linked in place. The rail comes to the 12" mark not leaving room for the end cap & gas block
Posted Image

MOD2 with a 6.7" rail. It covers the end cap, the front sight holds it in place. The 12" mark is past the flash hider. A free float might work with a [barrel extension] or the SR12 outer barrel?
Posted Image

http://www.ebay.com/...dguard&_sacat=0

Good Luck!

#20 StealthTaskForce

StealthTaskForce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa
  • Interests:Airsoft, Paintball, Sports, My girlfriend, Knives and Real Steel
  • Country:

Posted 03 August 2014 - 08:22 PM

Alright so then really the only way I can do this without getting a longer outer barrel would be to get a free float system correct? Because I did want part of the mock [barrel extension] to be in the rail like a reverse Honey Badger. If it is, I'm going to need to crunch some numbers and see if it would be cheaper to buy an outer barrel to make it work, or to get a free float rails. Either way, thanks for the help!

EDIT:
Alright well I actually just clicked on that link you posted Tales, then clicked on one of the suggest search options, "12" quad rail handguard" and come up with a bunch of options at $40. My question would be, how can I tell which of those rails are compatible with the delta ring I have now, if at all. And if none are, what would I need to do to make these rails work? Example would be this one: http://www.ebay.com/...=item33934070fe

Edited by StealthTaskForce, 03 August 2014 - 08:27 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users