Materials used in PTPs

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 kingensai

kingensai

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Interests:Gaming of all types (P&P, Tabletop, Video, etc), Shooting, Baking, and other random stuff.

Posted 29 December 2012 - 12:54 AM

Now, I'm new to the whole Airsoft thing, and I'm not accustomed to not getting specific materials used in my weapon systems. In this case, all I know about the 1911 Mk1 is that it's made of a "metal alloy". This isn't very descriptive, and it's bugging the hell out of me.

Straight out, I'm assuming that the "alloy" is not stainless steel. Most of the 1911s on the market made of stainless steel weigh in the 40 oz ~ 42 oz level, which the PTP is most definitely not. This leaves me with assuming it is something similar to aluminum, although the aluminum framed 1911 I know of is a bit heavier then the PTP. Whatever the PTP is, I'm assuming it is lower in density then aluminum.

What exactly is the metal alloy used? Does anyone know?

And furthermore, what is stopping KWA from actually using a steel frame and steel rails on the slide? This would IMO simulate the weight of a steel 1911, which is much more common then the aluminum and scandium 1911s.

#2 Chuck S

Chuck S

Guru

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,321 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 06:31 AM

The weights are "pretty close."  I may be one of the few who trains with a Government Model -- I know I'm a subject of curiosity during training courses! -- but carry a Commander size.

My Mark I PTP weight 35.5oz loaded about 5oz less than my loaded (7+1) stainless Ed Brown Kobra Carry (Commander) and 10oz less than my Colt Government model.  But she's 3.5oz heavier than my loaded Colt Commander with the aluminum frame.  I'm still saving for an aluminum alloy Kobra Carry.  :)

The weight in the Mark 1 is concentrated in the frame and magazine, the slide is very light weight.