Jump to content


SR7 internals done, moving on to externals.


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Rudras

Rudras

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Country:

Posted 23 April 2014 - 10:59 PM

Hi everyone,

After playing with springs and buckings ive achieved the performance ive been looking for. 350 max fps and increased ranged for field.

Now that the internals are complete im moving on to the externals. My only question is the removal of the front sight post/gas block.

From lurking the forums im conflicted with some information.
a) I need a gas block to secure the free float rail.
b)Dont need a replacement and just remove the front post, the rails are self secured.

Im not sure which info is correct or not, but would like some clarification before i start striping her down.
If i do need a replacement gas block would this fit the outer barrel
http://www.evike.com/products/29398/


ive got the new gen SR7, any advice and help is appreciated.

Cheers.

#2 Desert Punk

Desert Punk

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:utah
  • Country:

Posted 25 April 2014 - 01:30 AM

You do not need a front sight or gas block with a free float rail.

#3 gcw360

gcw360

    Supreme Guru

  • Super Moderator
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 11,736 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Jersey
  • Interests:Airsoft (Especially repair and customizing), Fly Fishing, Fossils (Especially Dino), Snakes, Photography
  • Country:

Posted 25 April 2014 - 04:58 AM

View PostDesert Punk, on 25 April 2014 - 01:30 AM, said:

You do not need a front sight or gas block with a free float rail.
Ditto that, so long as the rail is secured at the proper angle/register with the top of the receiver.  If not, then the gas tube is needed to help maintain aliment. What I have done is removed the gas block and cut a short piece of the gas tube off.  Then,  I glue the gas tube in place within the hole of the upper receiver to keep everything nice and aligned.  I personnly prefer keeping the block and tube intact but since it's not a real gun it's not at all critical.

#4 Pyro_Buster

Pyro_Buster

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Country:

Posted 25 April 2014 - 10:40 AM

Hey man. I'm having the same issues as you. After some lurking, I discovered the Madbull RAS fix. They have 3 versions, and it's basically a little bridge that connects the top rail on the upper to the top rail on the RIS. Looks promising!

#5 Rudras

Rudras

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Country:

Posted 26 April 2014 - 09:28 AM

Awesome Thank for all the info. Time to pop that sucker off.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users