Jump to content


Broke the front of a KWA gearbox


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 chickenhawk

chickenhawk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Location:North Tonawanda NY

Posted 05 August 2008 - 04:24 AM

I have had my KWA m4 over a year now.I got it when they frist came out.The gun shot great,but always sounded loud,the performance was good chronographed the gun alot and would chrono at the 390 fps range.So I am out at a skirm and the gun is firing loud like it always does and then it stops feeding bb's.I get the gun back home and take the upper receiver off to start to check it out,i thought it was the tappet plate,but after a better inspection I noticed the front of the gearbox was broken.It broke on the top on one side and on the bottom on the other side.Now for what really sucks it that the gearbox has been out for over a year now and you still cannot get a hold of a gearbox shell yet.So it looks like I am in search of a new gearbox shell that I can put in my KWA.I think that I might have to go with the king arms 8mm ball bearing gearbox.

PS: i work for a airsoft store that sells 10 to 15 kwa's a month and I still cannot get help on getting a gearbox shell

#2 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 August 2008 - 09:38 AM

If you can't find the parts in the ProShop you can e-mail KWA USA or a phone call they will try to find you the parts.
We also have a ProShop forum here you can recommend which parts to be made available.   I had a conversation with them recently looks like a bunch of parts arrived.

#3 Guest_Radix_*

Guest_Radix_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 August 2008 - 09:51 AM

The shell is available at the KWA ProShop.  Here's the direct link to the item http://store.kwausa....iesmechbox.aspx

#4 kurikobun

kurikobun

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 05 August 2008 - 09:33 PM

Ouch! that sucks..


I think you should replace the aluminum piston-head with a Systema Duracon or other polycarb piston head.

It would be cheaper to replace piston-heads than a new gearbox shell.

#5 karMeister

karMeister

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a small hole under a rock =P
  • Interests:EAR=((1+APR/n)^n)-1
  • Country:

Posted 06 August 2008 - 10:01 AM

View Postkurikobun, on Aug 5 2008, 09:33 PM, said:

Ouch! that sucks..


I think you should replace the aluminum piston-head with a Systema Duracon or other polycarb piston head.

It would be cheaper to replace piston-heads than a new gearbox shell.


or use sorbo pads

Posted Image

http://www.filairsof...ead.php?t=43728

#6 kurikobun

kurikobun

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 06 August 2008 - 10:39 AM

Do you know where you can get sorbo pads?

#7 Guest_Radix_*

Guest_Radix_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 August 2008 - 10:59 AM

Sorbothane rubbers are really great shock absorbing materials.    I'd be interested to read more facts or reviews on airsoft application.

#8 karMeister

karMeister

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a small hole under a rock =P
  • Interests:EAR=((1+APR/n)^n)-1
  • Country:

Posted 06 August 2008 - 11:35 PM

There are sorbo pads sold as sheets and you can even get sorbo soles for your shoes and cut them.  

For the record: I have broken more than a dozen gearboxes already and they all started the hairline in the front part.

#9 chickenhawk

chickenhawk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Location:North Tonawanda NY

Posted 18 August 2008 - 02:28 PM

Thanks to everybody that helped me out I got my gear box the other day.So after taking apart me gearbox I found out that there was more wrong with it than just a broken gearbox.There was also a stripped piston and a gear with a broken tooth.

#10 Stealthmaster14

Stealthmaster14

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 423 posts
  • Location:here :D
  • Interests:airsoft DUH, guitar, Jesus, video games, sports...etc

Posted 18 August 2008 - 03:28 PM

were you using a lipo?

#11 chickenhawk

chickenhawk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Location:North Tonawanda NY

Posted 18 August 2008 - 06:27 PM

Yes I was using a lipo battery.And here is a picture of the carnage,this is not a great picture.Attached File  DSCF0904.jpg   52.89K   34 downloads

#12 Guest_allizard_*

Guest_allizard_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 August 2008 - 08:04 PM

what's the spec on your lipo?

#13 chickenhawk

chickenhawk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Location:North Tonawanda NY

Posted 22 August 2008 - 04:09 AM

11.1 volt 1000 mah 10c discharge

#14 karMeister

karMeister

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a small hole under a rock =P
  • Interests:EAR=((1+APR/n)^n)-1
  • Country:

Posted 22 August 2008 - 09:03 AM

View Postchickenhawk, on Aug 22 2008, 04:09 AM, said:

11.1 volt 1000 mah 10c discharge

What you had, my friend... was what we call a lemon. hehehe!
I rarely see AEGs break in a M120 setup. Lipos might contribute to the short lifespan but i honestly dont think it affects it that much.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users