Jump to content


Thoughts on burst wizard


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 holderp

holderp

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winston Salem, NC
  • Country:

Posted 21 February 2014 - 04:28 AM

Once they come back in stock I plan on ordering a CQB Mod1 from ASGI. They have this deal where I can get a Burst Wizard for an extra $20. From what I understand it's plug and and give you 3round burst out of the box. You can program other feature as we'll if you want. Thoughts?

#2 airsoftmatthias

airsoftmatthias

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 171 posts

Posted 21 February 2014 - 10:31 AM

It's not worth it. The Burst Wizard is not a real MOSFET. It's basically an electronic device for giving you a three round burst instead of full auto. Better MOSFETs like BTC or ExtremeFire are more expensive, but they are well worth the extra money. I have an AWS MOSFET in my 2009 KWA, and I've never had an electrical issue with it since its install.

#3 Chuck S

Chuck S

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,320 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio
  • Country:

Posted 21 February 2014 - 03:54 PM

Different opinion:  The Burst Wizard King Kong is completely worth while!  :)

These can be wired internally like other MOSFET devices to stop trigger arcing or simply plugged in series between the battery and the gun where most of the functions are available -- other than acting as a MOSFET relay device for the trigger.  Stuff like 3-round BURST works right out of the envelope.

How worth while?  I have them on all my AEGs.  OK, I only have two (2), a KWA KM4 and a RM4.  The device is in both of them.  Three-round BURST is the main reason and the device reverts to AUTO if you hold the trigger down for half a second.  BURST is settable.  Want a two-round or 8 round burst?  Just set it.  Delay to AUTO is settable.  Want the gun to think it's empty after firing 30 rounds?  This is settable too via a delay -- say, 5 seconds to simulate a magazine change -- after so many rounds.  The list goes to something like a dozen options.  Using a LiPO batery?  The device will cut out the battery when the voltage drops to where a LiPO can be damaged.

Want to limit the cyclic rate from the crazy 1500 rpm a 11.1v LiPO will drive a normal AEG.  Just set the rate you want.

Only caveat is the device sucks a minute amount of power from the battery all the time so you may want to remove it if the gun won't be used for a couple of weeks.  Setup is arcane and requires pressing the trigger several times and disconnecting/connecting the battery several times.  The "deans" connectors on my second unit were counterfeits.

-- Chuck

#4 Larry

Larry

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta
  • Country:

Posted 21 February 2014 - 04:06 PM

I just looked it up, why do you say it is not a real mosfet airsoftmatthias? Like any mosfet you can either hardwire it in or just plug and play. I know if you plug and play it you wont get the full benefits of trigger protection and full power. It sounds decent, was thinking of getting one.

#5 tales

tales

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brooklyn NY
  • Interests:Fishing, RC cars, Building Motion Picture sets
  • Country:

Posted 21 February 2014 - 05:02 PM

My son didn't like The delay from burst to full auto (a little under a second) i think you can program that on the new model. It does have the trigger bypass & now AB? or did it always have that? All in all not a bad product.

#6 Larry

Larry

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta
  • Country:

Posted 21 February 2014 - 05:21 PM

Do most feilds consider this a mech mod for semi auto only in a DMR setup. Will it work for that?

#7 airsoftmatthias

airsoftmatthias

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 171 posts

Posted 21 February 2014 - 05:45 PM

View PostLarry, on 21 February 2014 - 04:06 PM, said:

I just looked it up, why do you say it is not a real mosfet airsoftmatthias? Like any mosfet you can either hardwire it in or just plug and play. I know if you plug and play it you wont get the full benefits of trigger protection and full power. It sounds decent, was thinking of getting one.

I was thinking of the old King Kong MOSFETs. The new ones are more hardwire-in friendly, but the old ones... not as much.

Some fields do not consider this a viable mod. They usually prefer a "permanent" solution that involves cutting the selector plate. Some will allow it though.

#8 tales

tales

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brooklyn NY
  • Interests:Fishing, RC cars, Building Motion Picture sets
  • Country:

Posted 21 February 2014 - 05:45 PM

I think it has a snipper mode & 30rd burst for milsim.

#9 Larry

Larry

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta
  • Country:

Posted 21 February 2014 - 05:58 PM

Guess I will ask when I am at the feild tomorrow. Know there are some players there running polarstar DMRs so I figured they can only do it with electronics also? Thanks for both the replies.

#10 Chuck S

Chuck S

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,320 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio
  • Country:

Posted 22 February 2014 - 09:05 AM

BURST to AUTO delay is set at 0.6 seconds default.  Settable in 0.2 second increments.  If the delay is too long just release and press the trigger again.

If hardwired (where the MOSFET has control of the trigger) BURST can be set to "Tap Burst."  The gun will fire the complete burst even after the trigger is released.  If a real long burst is set the gun will keep firing until it's done and might be dangerous like a "runaway gun."

There is a "Sniper Delay" mode settable in 0.2 second increments.  If set to, say 1 second, the gun will not fire more than once a second no matter how many times you press the trigger.

-- Chuck

#11 holderp

holderp

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winston Salem, NC
  • Country:

Posted 27 February 2014 - 06:09 AM

Chuck S
Thank you for the feedback. The CQR Mod1 is back in stock so I'll be ordering soon. 20 for the Burst Wizard seems like a good gamble. Will prob leave it plug and play in case I have issues with it. Thanks again.

#12 Rain Man

Rain Man

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Airsoft (obviously). Gaming. Baseball. Fantasy Football. Skiing
  • Country:

Posted 27 February 2014 - 06:23 AM

I don't see how it could be a bad investment. I would go for it! I love having a three round burst ability.

#13 Chuck S

Chuck S

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,320 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio
  • Country:

Posted 27 February 2014 - 04:09 PM

There used to be a couple of versions of the Burst Wizard.  The BWKK (King Kong) was the top of the line.  There were lesser versions with less features or capability as I recall.  I remain happy with two I have.   (The developer's name is Kong.)

Remember is has a slight parasitic draw on the battery all time so recharging before use or disconnecting after use is recommended.

-- Chuck

#14 holderp

holderp

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winston Salem, NC
  • Country:

Posted 27 February 2014 - 04:25 PM

Ordered the CQR and the Burst Wizard along with a six pack of KWA mags. Should replace my G&G Combat Machine nicely

Edited by holderp, 27 February 2014 - 04:34 PM.


#15 holderp

holderp

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winston Salem, NC
  • Country:

Posted 12 March 2014 - 08:23 AM

Got my CQR on Monday along with the burst wizard. Short story it worked great. Comes configured with 3 round burst out of the box. I set mine to 5 round burst. It's  plug and play. It does take up some room in the handguard but was able to make everything fit. For $20 with the gun it seems to be worth it.

#16 Chuck S

Chuck S

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,320 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio
  • Country:

Posted 12 March 2014 - 02:40 PM

I had to "re-tune" mine when I went from an 8.4v NiMh battery to an 11.2v LiPO.  3 round became 4 round until some adjustment.

-- Chuck




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users