Jump to content


CQB-Lemon?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Darkwalker

Darkwalker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 25 August 2008 - 08:57 AM

So, after only abour 5000 rounds through my CQB it blew fuses, the motor had seized.  I put in a Systema Turbo motor, and a Mad Bull 6.03 and after only a couple hundred rounds two consecutive teeth broke off the Sector Gear (not the 1/2 gear).  

I'm not hard on my guns and I keep them VERY well maintained.


Help me to decide on the next course of action.

#2 bigjohn

bigjohn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 25 August 2008 - 09:20 AM

View PostDarkwalker, on Aug 25 2008, 12:57 PM, said:

So, after only abour 5000 rounds through my CQB it blew fuses, the motor had seized.  I put in a Systema Turbo motor, and a Mad Bull 6.03 and after only a couple hundred rounds two consecutive teeth broke off the Sector Gear (not the 1/2 gear).  

I'm not hard on my guns and I keep them VERY well maintained.


Help me to decide on the next course of action.

what was your rof or rpm with the turbo? i know systema says use a higher amp fuse with there magnum motor.
if its not out of warranty it is know. i would just put a new gear set in.(kwa)

bigjohn

#3 Darkwalker

Darkwalker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 25 August 2008 - 09:34 AM

View Postbigjohn, on Aug 25 2008, 10:20 AM, said:

what was your rof or rpm with the turbo? i know systema says use a higher amp fuse with there magnum motor.
if its not out of warranty it is know. i would just put a new gear set in.(kwa)

bigjohn


I didn't get a chance to chrono it before it stripped the teeth.  But, the rof with the original motor and a 11.1 lipo was 22- and I know the Systema Turbo was faster.

#4 Shmoogly3

Shmoogly3

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wisconsin
  • Interests:Outdoor inthusiest
    Airsofting
    Martial arts
    Cycling
    Hiking
  • Country:

Posted 25 August 2008 - 10:28 AM

View PostDarkwalker, on Aug 25 2008, 10:34 AM, said:

I didn't get a chance to chrono it before it stripped the teeth.  But, the rof with the original motor and a 11.1 lipo was 22- and I know the Systema Turbo was faster.
Kwa makes there guns to last. Even though the kwa km4 cqb gets up to 28 rps stock with a lipo it does not have speed gears or a turbo motor. High torque gears are not for using turbo motors they are for stronger springs and can take the sudden jolt that the spring gives when fired, but are not meant for continuous high rates of fire. Even thought high torque gears are like this, I still can't grasp the thought of of your gears stripping or chipping with only 5000 shots. Kwa makes very nice gears and really good motors. I think you just got a screwed up gun!

#5 Darkwalker

Darkwalker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 25 August 2008 - 11:10 AM

View PostShmoogly3, on Aug 25 2008, 11:28 AM, said:

Kwa makes there guns to last. Even though the kwa km4 cqb gets up to 28 rps stock with a lipo it does not have speed gears or a turbo motor. High torque gears are not for using turbo motors they are for stronger springs and can take the sudden jolt that the spring gives when fired, but are not meant for continuous high rates of fire. Even thought high torque gears are like this, I still can't grasp the thought of of your gears stripping or chipping with only 5000 shots. Kwa makes very nice gears and really good motors. I think you just got a screwed up gun!


Thanks for the feedback... I suppose I'll just drop down to a stock motor and gears and leave it alone.

#6 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 28 August 2008 - 10:26 AM

View PostDarkwalker, on Aug 25 2008, 12:10 PM, said:

Thanks for the feedback... I suppose I'll just drop down to a stock motor and gears and leave it alone.

If your still under warrenty and havent opened it (but you looked at your gears so you had to open it) I would have returned it.

#7 karMeister

karMeister

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a small hole under a rock =P
  • Interests:EAR=((1+APR/n)^n)-1
  • Country:

Posted 28 August 2008 - 10:28 AM

View Postvic_man4, on Aug 28 2008, 10:26 AM, said:

If your still under warrenty and havent opened it (but you looked at your gears so you had to open it) I would have returned it.


He used another motor = warranty void  :(

#8 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 28 August 2008 - 10:29 AM

View PostkarMeister, on Aug 28 2008, 11:28 AM, said:

He used another motor = warranty void  :(

and opened the gearbox to  inspect the gears beacuse he said there were broken teeth.

#9 karMeister

karMeister

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a small hole under a rock =P
  • Interests:EAR=((1+APR/n)^n)-1
  • Country:

Posted 28 August 2008 - 10:49 AM

View Postvic_man4, on Aug 28 2008, 10:29 AM, said:

and opened the gearbox to  inspect the gears beacuse he said there were broken teeth.


sounds like he knows his way around the AEG and figured he didnt need the warranty. ;)

#10 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 28 August 2008 - 10:51 AM

View PostkarMeister, on Aug 28 2008, 11:49 AM, said:

sounds like he knows his way around the AEG and figured he didnt need the warranty. ;)

LOL, every gun I buy is a leap of faith because there are no warrenties offered in Canada, sucks eh?

#11 karMeister

karMeister

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a small hole under a rock =P
  • Interests:EAR=((1+APR/n)^n)-1
  • Country:

Posted 28 August 2008 - 11:51 AM

View Postvic_man4, on Aug 28 2008, 10:51 AM, said:

LOL, every gun I buy is a leap of faith because there are no warrenties offered in Canada, sucks eh?


same here. no warranties

#12 vic_man4

vic_man4

    Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Location:Niagara, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Airsoft, XBox 360 (GamerTag = CovertMaz), Cars, and HEAVY METAL \m/

Posted 28 August 2008 - 03:22 PM

View PostkarMeister, on Aug 28 2008, 11:51 AM, said:

same here. no warranties

KWA's warrenties are only in America, that is what Radix has told me in the past. :S




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users